Leave a comment

Spring Cleaning in the Winter

Author: Lori Carter

Country Sunrise

Country Sunrise

I’m a pack rat. I admit it. I love to go to thrift stores, yard sales, antique malls and flea markets. I always come home with at least two bags of stuff!! I will see a vase, or some trinkets, or some material and think “I can use that, or I can make something out of that.” It comes home, I will wash it up and it will sit on my work table for a month or two and eventually gets packed away for future use. Then I forget all about it.

A couple times a year, and for sure at the beginning of the year when I need to clean out my files, I start going through boxes and drawers to eliminate the junk. I run into all of these items I purchased and stowed away. Some of them I have had for a year or two and completely forgot about. Recently I decided that I was going to eliminate some of this junk, and boy was that hard to do. Every item I picked up, I would think “I can do something with this.” But I was strong and decided to throw a lot away because I realized if I didn’t use it within a few weeks or months after I brought home, I was probably not going to ever get around to using it.

We can sometimes be a pack rat with our souls too!! Something happens, to us, which is unpleasant, devastating or hurtful. Maybe someone said or did something to us that wasn’t right and although we can’t deal with it at the moment or may never be able to do something about it, we file it away to a certain part of our brain to be dealt with later.

When something else happens, we draw these items out of storage and compare them to the newest event and we start thinking we need to do something with them. Maybe we think we need to confront someone for something they said or did. Maybe we even think we should look into some kind of legal action against someone, even though what happened may have been months or even years ago.

The sad fact is; there are a lot of things that happen in our lives that we can’t or shouldn’t do anything about. For example, there are thousands, perhaps millions of times that people say something hateful, hurtful or just incorrect to or about us. It is hard to take words back once they are said. If we didn’t take care of the problem at the time it occurred, chances are the person has forgotten about it completely.

We need to occasionally do some spring cleaning within ourselves. We need to let go of the unpleasant events and words that we store in our heart and minds. The human race is a cruel race and it is only going to get worse. We need to clean out that closet and start storing all of the good things in there instead. We need to store the blessings of God, the happy events and the love of our family and friends instead of all the garbage that can constantly make us sad, depressed and unhappy.

If you’re going to be a pack-rat, collect and store the items you can really use, like honesty, love, compassion, mercy, forgiveness and kindness and draw on this storage when you are going through those tough times that are common throughout our lives. Calling up the positive events can help us weather the storm and find something positive no matter what might be going on at the time.

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 219 other followers

