7 Comments

Forget the Mayan Calendar

Beautiful Sunset over the Hospital, Butler, Missouri

Beautiful Sunset over the Hospital, Butler, Missouri

Author: Lori Carter

I had a lengthy conversation with a relative of mine on Facebook last night. She wanted to know what I thought about these predictions of the world ending according to the Mayan calendar. I told her what I have been taught, what the bible says;

“But concerning that day and hour no one knows, not even the angels of heaven, nor the Son, but the Father only. For as were the days of Noah, so will be the coming of the Son of Man. For as in those days before the flood they were eating and drinking, marrying and giving in marriage, until the day when Noah entered the ark, and they were unaware until the flood came and swept them all away, so will be the coming of the Son of Man. Then two men will be in the field; one will be taken and one left. Two women will be grinding at the mill; one will be taken and one left. Therefore, stay awake, for you do not know on what day your Lord is coming. But know this that if the master of the house had known in what part of the night the thief was coming, he would have stayed awake and would not have let his house be broken into. Therefore you also must be ready, for the Son of Man is coming at an hour you do not expect. (Matthew 24: 36-44)

I reminded her of Y2K, when many people were convinced that the Jesus would return while other groups were convinced the world would end on that day, that all electronics and technology would be wiped out and we would be thrown back into the dark ages. I believe the world is not actually going to end, but will be changed. Remember we are told that after the rapture, Satan will rule for a time and then Jesus will challenge and defeat him and rule the earth. I also mentioned how in past years predictions of meteors hitting the earth that have all been wrong.

Between now and that time the earth, the human race will go through multiple changes, but there are still certain events that have to fall into place. We need to keep in mind that most mainstream churches believe the rapture will take place first with the dead in Christ the first to be taken up. Considering the fact that God’s time is not our time, he does not live on the 24 hour a day schedule we do, the rapture could take place in a moment or over a number of years, decades or centuries. It’s all in God’s time. It could actually be happening now and we just don’t recognize it. Thousands upon thousands of people disappear each year without a trace. Could some of them be taken up?

On the morning of December 21st, in the year 2012 I will wake up and go about my day as I normally do. I do not live in fear of the earth being destroyed. If it is god’s will, there is nothing I can do to change it. If/when it does happen, I will be ready.

Our society as well as that of all countries across this earth is changing. Civil, national and worldwide wars will continue. It is the power struggle that has gone on since the beginning of time. Doomsday Preppers suggest you should prepare for different types of apocalypses by building bunkers, stockpiling food and water, and hording supplies to last for many days, weeks or years. While some of this is, in fact, logical, preparing your spirit and your relationship with God is of the highest priority. Don’t live in fear of what is to happen, for you cannot change the will of God.

Isaiah 41:10 Fear not, for I am with you; be not dismayed, for I am your God; I will strengthen you, I will help you, I will uphold you with my righteous right hand.

This verse was given to me by one of my favorite pastors shortly after I was saved. It has been my favorite verse for many years and God has shown me so many times that he is there, just as he says he will be.

Face it, we are not in control, we cannot do anything that will change God’s will. Acceptance of him, his laws, and his rules will equip you for all that is to come. Day by day living, without the fear of impending doom is the best way to continue. It may be centuries before God’s will is completely accomplished for this earth.

Be Blessed, Lori

GOD IS GOD ALL THE TIME. GOD IS GOOD ALL THE TIME. ALL THE TIME GOD IS GOOD.

7 comments on “Forget the Mayan Calendar

  1. Hello great blog! Does running a blog like this require a massive amount work?
    I’ve very little expertise in coding but I was hoping to start my own blog in the near future. Anyhow, should you have any recommendations or tips for new blog owners please share. I understand this is off subject but I just had to ask. Kudos!

    • WordPress is free and it has a blog that gives you hints and instructions for setting up a free site. I tried e-blogger and a few others and found wordpress to be the best one. It allows you to choose different backgrounds or templates or build one with your own pictures. Just go to wordpress.com and play around with it for awhile. You write when you want to write and you can link your blog to publish on facebook and twitter whenever you write a piece automatically. I go through dry spells waiting for God to tell me what to write about next. Sometimes I will write something for several days in a row and then sometimes I won’t get any inspiration for weeks.

  2. When I initially commented I clicked the “Notify me when new comments are added” checkbox
    and now each time a comment is added I get three e-mails with the same comment.

    Is there any way you can remove people from that service?

    Many thanks!

  3. Hi just wanted to give you a brief heads up and let you know a
    few of the images aren’t loading properly. I’m not sure why but I
    think its a linking issue. I’ve tried it in two different browsers and both show the same results.

  4. Wow! This blog looks just like my old one! It’s on a completely different topic but it has pretty much the same page layout and design.

    Superb choice of colors!

Leave a Reply

