Leave a comment

Are You Going to the Party?

Author: Lori Carter

Rembrandt - the angels appearing to the shepherds

Rembrandt-the angels appearing to the Shepherds

In two days there will be a celebration. This celebration will be held worldwide. It is a birthday party, one that will put all others to shame. It is the birthday of a very important individual. It is not that of the President of the United States, nor that of any Senator, Congressman, Author, or leader of another country. It is not that of an actor, actress, musician, doctor, minister or other well know individual. It is the birthday of a King, the King of the whole world, the King who came down in human form to suffer for all of our sins and inequities. He is a loving, compassionate and caring King.

This birthday is celebrated with prayer, praise, adoration, decorations, love, good food, time with family and the giving of gifts, all done in the act of sharing the inspiration, love and ministry of this one individual. This King is a God, our very own God’s son. He came here to deliver us, to intercede for us, to suffer for us and he waits in heaven with the father for the day he can return to claim his beloved children.

This is also a week before most people make their new year’s resolutions. Many of these resolutions quickly fall by the wayside as our busy lives, what we consider our needs, and our very wants step in to quickly draw our attention away. Some people make resolutions that they know they have no chance of keeping.

Each year I look back and think “do I want to make any resolutions different than I have in the past and how well will I be able to keep them”. Over the years, I have learned that there are so many things I can live and do without. I don’t need or want the latest fashions, the latest jewelry, the latest hairstyles or the newest trendy electronics and computer inventions. I don’t feel like I have to keep up with the Jone’s.

Don’t get me wrong. I enjoy the ease of communication and research that having a computer and the internet allow. I enjoy having cable television and a phone. I enjoy having a car to get where I need or want to go, but I have realized, since there have been times I have done without, that I could easily do without again. In all actuality, I like the simpler things in life, the things that are free. Warm summer days with gentle breezes, trying to grow our own food, fixing up the house with simple things found at thrift stores of rummage sales, and writing and reading.

No, my resolutions are not to gain more material or technical items. My resolutions don’t involve buying anything at all. My resolutions are all self-improvement resolutions that I know, if I can achieve, will please my lord and savior.

I am human, just like anyone else. I have habits and failure just like anyone else. Not only am I attending this great birthday party with thanksgiving for the birth of this king, but am sticking to resolutions I make each year to be more understanding, more loving, more helpful, more merciful and more forgiving than I have been in the past year.

Sometimes my mouth overrides my brain. Sometimes I feel anger, sorrow, depression and irritation. Sometimes I am tired and just don’t want to deal with the day. I am human with human failings. I know I can never be perfect, but I can strive to be a better person. I know that he is my King and I am willing to spend the rest of life believing in him, stepping out in faith, obeying him and sharing his love.

Are you going to the Birthday party, for everyone is invited? I hope to see you there.

We both wish all our readers and followers a very Blessed Christmas and a Joyous New Year

Luke 2:8-14 “And there were in the same country shepherds abiding in the field, keeping watch over their flock by night.
And lo, the angel of the Lord came upon them, and the glory of the Lord shone round about them: and they were sore afraid. And the angel said unto them, Fear not: for, behold, I bring you good tidings of great joy, which shall be to all people. For unto you is born this day in the city of David a Savior, which is Christ the Lord.
And this shall be a sign unto you; Ye shall find the babe wrapped in swaddling clothes, lying in a manger.
And suddenly there was with the angel a multitude of the heavenly host praising God, and saying,
Glory to God in the highest, and on earth peace, good will toward men.

Leave a Reply

