Leave a comment

Living Each Day to the Fullest: The Fragility of Life

Author: Lori Carter

Fragile Flowers in Bates County

I’ve often heard throughout my life that you should live each day to the fullest for you never know if it will be your last. I never knew for certain what was meant by that. Should I run out each day and do things I had never done before, even if I couldn’t afford to do them. Should I ignore the bills, buy exotic foods; take expensive trips so I could experience everything that I wanted? Should I ignore the very principles we are taught to live by so I can experience all that life has to offer, and do it in a hurry because each day may be my last?

I really don’t think that is the meaning of living each day to fullest. I sincerely think it means to strive to live each day the best you can. Practice patience, learn control over your anger, and let the little things slide away, help, love, learn, be compassionate and be practical.

Many people concern themselves with preventative living. Some go to great lengths in eating only what is the best for your body, while others soon transfer into germaphobics, sterilizing everything on a daily basis for fear of catching some kind of strange disease. Others, still, may turn toward doomsday preparation because they want so much to survive.

The bible tells us that even Jesus doesn’t know the second, minute, hour or day that his father will send him back to collect his children. The same applies to the fragility of life. Even though doctors can almost accurately predict how long a person will live after being diagnosed with incurable cancer or suffering a major heart attack or stroke, there have been many, that were so scheduled to die, that became the recipients of Gods own healing miracles.

The truth, like it or not is that we don’t know when Jesus is coming back and we don’t know how long each one of us will live. Living each day to the fullest should be started with thanking God for waking up and living each day in the way we believe he wants us to. It should start in believing that he will do all that he says he will do.

We can make preparations for when we pass away, like saving up money or property to leave to our children and grandchildren, paying for funeral expense ahead of time, but unfortunately not everyone has the financial means to do this. This makes it easier on your relatives, but it does nothing to replace the loss and sorrow they feel when you are gone.

Life is very fragile. It can be snuffed out without a seconds notice, in millions of different ways. None of us plan to be in an accident or plane that is going down. None of us plans on getting a serious disease, or having a heart attack or stroke. None of us plans on dying in a natural catastrophe like a flood, earthquake, tornado or hurricane, but it happens.

Living each day to the fullest, to me, is first thanking God for such a wonderful life, second asking that he use me in some way each day to show his love, and letting all those close to me know each day that I love them and that God loves them.

Am I dying? Is that why I write this? Not as far as I know. I would love to live a hundred years and see all my grandchildren and their children grow, prosper and put their faith in the Lord. I would love to live long enough to see every unsaved person I know, saved. I would love to live long enough to see peace finally find it’s place here on earth, but life is fragile and I know each day I awake, could be my last.

Just as God only knows when Jesus will return, God only knows when it is time for each one of us to come home. Live each day to the fullest for the life we lead is fragile and only the father knows the next step we will take.

James 4:14 Yet you do not know what tomorrow will bring. What is your life? For you are a mist that appears for a little time and then vanishes.

2 Corinthians 4:18 As we look not to the things that are seen but to the things that are unseen. For the things that are seen are transient, but the things that are unseen are eternal.

Acts 20:24 But I do not account my life of any value nor as precious to myself, if only I may finish my course and the ministry that I received from the Lord Jesus, to testify to the gospel of the grace of God.

Be Blessed, Lori

GOD IS GOD ALL THE TIME. GOD IS GOOD ALL THE TIME. ALL THE TIME GOD IS GOOD

Leave a Reply

