Leave a comment

The Prayer Blanket

Author: Lori Carter

Sample of Prayer Blanket

Sample of Prayer Blanket

It was only two years after I moved from Ohio to Missouri, leaving my son, his wife and my four grandsons behind. I had been actively taking the boys to church for many years but felt I was being moved out of their lives for a reason.

After a year here I found myself laid off from my job with a pending disability application in process. Money was tight and Christmas was approaching and I wanted so bad to be able to send my grandsons something personal for Christmas.

I was able to scrape together enough to buy them each a small present but there was still that personal item I wanted to give them from “Grandma Lori”. Now I am pretty well schooled in the art of sewing, crocheting and knitting. I had a selection of yarn I had acquired and saved over the years, planning to eventually make something.

The though entered my head to make them each some sort of throw or blanket that they could put on their beds and remember me by. I was able to crochet two of them with the yarn I had, but I needed two more and there was no way I could get them done in time if I crocheted them. I bought two pieces of brightly, fun colored material from Wal-Mart.

I backed each piece with a thin, flannel sheet and crocheted around the edges with matching color. I thought that it would be something they would look at and just throw aside, but my son assured me they loved them and kept them on their beds.

I had wondered over the last couple years since I left, if they had remembered anything they learned in church or anything I had tried to teach them about Christ. The one thing I tried to get through their heads was that they could pray anywhere and that they should pray often.

It was through a phone conversation with the next to the oldest grandson one evening that I found out that my blankets meant a lot to them. He told me he spread that blanket out on his bed each night before going to bed, and would sit in the middle of it and say his prayers.

A lot has happened since that conversation and the kids are living in Florida with their mom. I speak them several times a week and always tell them how much I love them and that they are in my prayers. I miss them terribly but neither family has the money or ability to travel to see the other.

I had a conversation the other day with this same grandson and something prompted me to ask about his blanket. It turns out that the blankets were lost or left behind in their move from Ohio to Florida and he really missed having that special item that I made for him. Upon further questioning I found out that all of them had lost their blankets.

I asked him if he would like me to make him another one. “Can you do that? Would you  do that, Please, yes, please make me another one.”

It thrilled me to know that simple blanket meant so much, but it thrilled me even more to know how he used it. I will be starting new blankets soon for each grand-boy, and I am comforted to know that even though they are not in church at the moment, they haven’t forgotten God and they haven’t forgotten to pray.

Are you teaching your children, your grandchildren to pray? Maybe a prayer blanket will help them to remember to say their prayers before they go to bed. If you can’t make one, purchasing a small, soft throw is inexpensive. They can spread it out in the middle of the bed, or fold it as a soft pillow for their knees on the floor, and every time they see it, it will remind them to pray.

I believe that prayer is important, that every child should know that they can talk to God at anytime, anywhere and for any reason.

Leave a Reply

