Leave a comment

Talking to My Best Friend

Author: Lori Carter

Jesus with children 2I remember when I first became a Christian. I had so many questions, I needed so much direction, and I didn’t know where to begin to look. I didn’t understand what it meant to talk to Jesus and I didn’t understand what it truly meant to believe in him.

I didn’t get much instruction or direction from the “Seasoned” Christians at the Church I was saved at. They could quote scriptures or suggest I read my bible, but they couldn’t translate those scriptures into something that related to what I might have been going through at the time.

I listed to different people praying and it seemed like my prayers were inadequate. It sounded funny to hear myself saying “Father, God” or “Great and Mighty Lord” and I truly believed that if I didn’t pray the way they did, I had no hope of having my prayers answered, until one day at another church, the pastor told his congregation that if they had trouble praying, to lie in bed and imagine Jesus sitting in a chair next to them, and to speak to him the same way they would if they were telling their troubles to their best friend.

I understood this type of praying much better than the ones with the formal, large, more extravagant words or phrases. I also learned that it was alright to ask questions. In reflection, during my conversations, it is not odd for me to ask Jesus why, when and where about certain subjects, and often realize the answer before my eyes close for sleep.

As I get older, I reflect a lot. I see life a whole lot differently than I used to. I went through some really tough times early on. Who hasn’t? But when I look back on them, I no longer dwell on them, they don’t matter anymore. The past is the past. As the years seem to fly by, I also have come to understand what it means to forgive and forget. You cannot do anything about the past except remember lessons you have learned.

If you dwell on circumstances that are no longer present, if you constantly conjure up the images, actions and words of those who have hurt you, have wronged you, you will find that you become a miserable person, and there will be no joy in your heart. Hard as it was, I had to learn to pray for my enemies and tormentors instead of hating them or wanting to exact some sort of revenge. Once I started doing that, the past became exactly that, “the past”.

I always start my prayers thanking the lord for all the blessings I have. I see them so much more clearly now and realize that I wouldn’t have anything if it weren’t for him. Mankind is not the powerful entity they declare to be. Whether they want to accept it or not, God is still in control.

Even though troubled times come to everyone, how you handle them, how you look at them, how you accept them, and how strong your faith in the Lord is will determine how quickly and effectively you pass by them and onto to better things in your life.

I don’t find all my answers in the bible; I talk with God, on a constant basis. There are those, some who are family members that ask me to pray because they feel I have God’s ear, but I have no more of his attention than anyone else who is willing to completely rely and believe on him. Jesus is not only our lord, God is not only our Father and the Holy Spirit is not only our helper, they are our best friend, three rolled into one. It’s in the Bible.

John 15:15 No longer do I call you servants, for the servant does not know what his master is doing; but I have called you friends, for all that I have heard from my Father I have made known to you.

John 15:13 Greater love has no one than this, that someone lay down his life for his friends.

James 2:23 And the Scripture was fulfilled that says, “Abraham believed God, and it was counted to him as righteousness”—and he was called a friend of God.

John 14: 14 And whatsoever ye shall ask in my name, that will I do, that the Father may be glorified in the Son. If ye shall ask any thing in my name, I will do it.

GOD IS GOD ALL THE TIME. GOD IS GOOD ALL THE TIME. ALL THE TIME GOD IS GOOD

BE BLESSED

Leave a Reply

