Leave a comment

Your Participation is Required

Author: Lori Carter

Old Town, Missouri

Old Town, Missouri

The tale goes something like this. “There was an elderly gentleman that lived by himself in a small, rural town. He was a devout Christian, attended every service at church, read his bible, gave to the poor, and belonged to every charitable group in town. One summer it rained severely and the town started to flood. As he got out his ladder and started to climb on his roof, some neighbors in a row boat came up and asked him to go with them. He answered “no thank you, God will take care of me”. The waters kept rising and most of the town had evacuated. The Navy sent in a boat to rescue anyone that was left, but when they came upon the elderly gentleman, he again refused to get in the boat. Several hours later, a helicopter flew above him, stopped and hovered there, and let down a ladder. The man still declined to be helped, and eventually the waters overcame and he drowned. When he got to Heaven and stood in front of God, he asked “God, why didn’t you save me?” to which God replied “I sent your neighbors to help you, I sent the Navy to help you, and I sent a helicopter to help you, what more did you want me to do?”

God still performs miracles. You hear about them every day, but he doesn’t always do it with a flash of lightening and a peal of thunder. He often opens doors, sends the right people your way, or gives you the knowledge to find your own way of resolving your problems. You have to walk through that door, recognize the people he sent, and listen to his voice. Hiding off in the corner with a “woe is me” attitude will accomplish nothing. Your participation is required.

I worked for a company many years back, for six years. The first three years, the owners were as fair as they could be with their employees. The company was small and didn’t rake in a huge profit, but you got a raise every year, sometimes just a quarter an hour and there was always a Christmas bonus. If someone left the company and you had to take on their work load, you got another raise.

When the new owners took over that all stopped. There were no bonuses and there were no raises, except for the people they brought with them. They blamed it on poor sales, but the truth was they were paying for their cars and credit cards for both them and their wives out of the company instead of their own pockets.

I prayed for some kind of relief. I was barely making it week to week. I didn’t have time to even start looking for a better job. God sent a young lady to me one day in church, who asked me to meet her the following day at a restaurant in my neighborhood. She hired me as a customer service rep at two dollars more an hour than I was presently making. My pay increased by another dollar after 30 days and another dollar at my year-end review. He answered that prayer more abundantly that I had ever anticipated. He gave me my miracle, but if I hadn’t agreed to meet with her after a grueling day at work, I wouldn’t have been able to reap the rewards of my miracle. My participation was required.

Another example is that of an elderly woman that rode the church bus. She had bad cataracts on her eyes, to the point where she was almost blind. Her neighbor would go over and help her with the house work, the cooking and the laundry. She would help her on and off the bus and around inside the church. It was found out later that her insurance would pay for her cataracts to be removed, but she refused. She was waiting on a miracle healing from God. Eventually she had to get the surgery for her neighbor moved away and she found herself unable to find someone to provide the help she needed.

God opened a door for her, but she didn’t walk through it right away and wasted several years, sitting around in the dark, when her miracle was within her reach. Her participation was required.

God still performs miracles, some instantly and others by putting you in the right place at the right time with the right people. Your participation, however, is always required.

Leave a Reply

