Leave a comment

Are Your Reservations Confirmed?

Christ of the Ozarks, Eureka Springs, Arkansas

Christ of the Ozarks, Eureka Springs, Arkansas

Author: Lori Carter

When I was a new Christian, I ended up being very confused. I heard sermons that said you were to go out and spread the world. I heard sermons that gave off a whole list of things you should be doing for other people. Then I heard the commercial sermons where you were promised a gold star from God or a confirmed reservation in Heaven if you sowed a monetary seed into this cause or that cause.

In the early years I was confused a lot. I read my bible, but I have to tell the truth, I found it very hard to understand, and still do today. Many preachers offered their interpretations or those of their church leaders to the congregation.

Since the bible was put together by men, I truly believe that the first church left a lot of important information out, on purpose to sway people toward what they determined they should know, since they, in fact, incorporated pagan elements into the church to sway people to attend.

Every sect has its own interpretations of the bible, so it can get very confusing trying to figure out who is right, who is wrong, and if anyone is even anywhere close to the truth.

My deceased husband was a minister for twenty years before I met him. I asked him one day, how to determine who was preaching the right word. His simple answer was to let the Holy Ghost tell you.  He said if you open your mind to the whisperings of the savior, you will know in your heart what is right and what is wrong.

I interpret the bible differently than many of my past church associations do. I believe that God is so much bigger than this, one small compilation of his word.  I also believe that churches only take part of the gospel to teach their members. I have found so much in this book that has never been spoken about or taught in the 17 years that I have been a Christian.

He built such an expansive universe. He put life on this world of ours, and even though some believe he no longer interacts with us, he still performs miracles. A god this big has to have a great big heart to love so many sinful people.

None of us are perfect. Even as Christians we struggle each day against temptations and problems. I truly believe that the Ten Commandments are a great recipe for living, and that showing God’s love can often be the best way to preach his salvation.

Sometimes being an example and trying to live his word is the best sermon anyone can see or hear. God knows the heart. He knows what we are capable of and what we are incapable of. He judges our true heart and not the physical actions we do because we think they will please him.

You can give tons of money away (if you have it), volunteer at a soup kitchen and feed the hungry and homeless or offer your time in a group or ministry at church, but if you are doing it to impress others and score brownie points with god, your future is bleak.

I guess the main point I want to get across, is the fact that we, none of us, are perfect, nor will we ever be. I believe that god sees the heart. He sees our struggles, our responses and our attitude.

He knows we struggle each day, but I believe as long as we have a heart that seeks after him, as long as we try to be the examples, the people he wants us to be, we will have our reservation in his mansion when we leave this temporary earth. What’s in your heart?  Are your reservations confirmed?

Matthew 6:1-4“Beware of practicing your righteousness before other people in order to be seen by them, for then you will have no reward from your Father who is in heaven. “Thus, when you give to the needy, sound no trumpet before you, as the hypocrites do in the synagogues and in the streets, that they may be praised by others. Truly, I say to you, they have received their reward. But when you give to the needy, do not let your left hand know what your right hand is doing, so that your giving may be in secret. And your Father who sees in secret will reward you.

GOD IS GOD ALL THE TIME. GOD IS GOOD ALL THE TIME. ALL THE TIME GOD IS GOOD

(Article originally published in “Positive Mornings”, my other blog – 2012)

Leave a Reply

