Leave a comment

Just Like Job

“Naked I came from my mother’s womb, and naked shall I return there. The Lord Gave and the Lord has taken away, Blessed be the name of the Lord” Job 1:21
Last summer, we had already taken out the house plants because the weather was finally warm enough. We came in after doing a little bit of work and my forearms were covered with this rash. It itched like crazy. I took a shower and put some lotion on but it continued through the night.

By the next afternoon, I was at the emergency room where they told me it was a contact rash. They put me on antihistamines and prednisone. The very next day I was back at the ER. I had a bad reaction to the Prednisone, so this time it was Hydroxyzine, Decadron (another steroid) and steroid cream.

Weeks went by and it would start to clear up and then there it was again, another patch of itchy hives in another location. I spent the summer inside the house. Doc said it could be something in the house or in the air that just didn’t like me.

A couple months ago I had my yearly exams. My pap test came back with abnormal cells. I had to go in for a DNC. The tissue came back with Adenocarcinoma in Situ, which is cancer that starts in certain cells and remains there, but they have a propensity, not to spread but to kind of jump from one spot to another. That is how the gynecologist explained it to me. So I had to go in for a total hysterectomy.

As if going in for a major surgery wasn’t bad enough, he nicked my bladder and had to repair it while he was in there. I had to come home with a catheter and go back in five days to have it removed. The good news was that the tissue they removed, along with the uterus, tubes and ovaries all came back negative for any sign of disease.

While at the hospital for one of Richards’s infusions a few weeks ago, we came out to a flat tire on the rear driver’s side. Richard pulled out the spare, which was brand new, but the jack that came with the car was the wrong one.
God sent an angel that day. There was a woman parked next to us, who went down to a service garage and asked them to come help us. She even offered to pay for the repair, but the good hearted people wouldn’t allow her to and neither did they charge us. We don’t know who she was, but God put her in the right place at the right time.

Lastly, we were down at Walmart the other night. As we were getting ready to leave and I went to unlock the doors in this terribly cold wind, my key broke off in the lock. We had a spare key, but it was locked in the car in Rich’s bag. We called the police but they said they don’t provide a service where they come out and help people to get into their cars. Rich had to bust out back window because we didn’t have money for a towing company and the local police don’t help you get into your car anymore.

As I looked at the broken window today, I thought about Job. I thought about how he lost everything, how he was afflicted with boils and disease and yet through it all he never lost his faith in God, he never once blamed God for any of it.

Have you been through the “Job” periods in your life? I am sure many of you have, where it seems that just one thing after another happens. It’s Satan’s old standard of hitting us with everything he can because he knows God is working in our lives.

It has been my experience that when a string of bad events happen one right after another, it is an indication that God is getting ready to do something in my life. I’ve learned that when Satan starts hitting me with his “Job” agenda, to expect some good changes in my life. Job never lost his love or faith in God, no matter what Satan hit him with.

Job 42:10 And the LORD turned the captivity of Job, when he prayed for his friends: also the LORD gave Job twice as much as he had before.

Leave a Reply

