Leave a comment

The Weight of the World

Hands holding the worldDo you ever feel like you have the weight of the world on your shoulders? I’ve felt that way many times in life, especially when people were looking to me to solve their problems or help them out. The sad fact is that many didn’t want their problems solved; they were too lazy to deal with them and expected me to solve them for them. Sometimes it wasn’t help they needed but a firm stance against what they were doing, but I was too soft hearted to say so.

I live far away from some major family members, and I do that on purpose because God told me to. It was time for some people to grow up and handle their own lives instead of depending on someone else to do it for them. God literally told me to get out of his way. Unfortunately, God does not work in our time, but only in his, when he decides and to the present day, I am still waiting for him to work in several family members’ lives, trying to wait patiently, which we all know is not always easy.

Moving away from my family didn’t take the weight off my shoulders. Even though I am not trying to solve all of their problems, they and their needs are always on my mind. I guess you could call me a worry wart because that is what I seem to do so very well. But it isn’t just my family that worries me. It is them, my friends, my neighbors, our country, the world, the hungry, the sick, the disabled, and the lost.

Every time that I read about what is going on in the Middle East, all the innocent people being killed, all the Christians that are being tortured and executed, all the destruction in the cities and historical areas, my heart breaks.

Every time I read about the murder of an innocent child, the abduction and rape of young girls, and the suicides of teens that haven’t even begun to start their lives, my heart breaks. Every time I hear of someone in need, someone who lost a loved one, someone who is very ill or someone who has lost their home, my heart breaks.

When I read about how people lived in the days before, during and after Christ, I think of how much more simple life was. No atomic bombs, no pollution, no bombers, submarines, biological warfare and no terrorists and yet there were still cruel and evil men, even then.

I find myself praying constantly during the day, from the time I awake until I go to sleep. Even when I wake during the night, I go back to sleep with a prayer upon my lips, often remembering something I wanted to pray about and forgot to include in my nightly prayers.

So, yes, there are times when I feel like I have the weight of the whole world on my shoulders, even though I know that is nowhere near the truth and that I am incapable of doing anything about the things I worry about.

Do you feel like you have the weight of the world on your shoulders? There is one who is willing to carry all of that weight and make our loads so much lighter. I often have to remind myself that when I pray I am asking him to take on these weights that seem too often to bear me down. His name is Jesus, and he literally does carry the weight of the world on his shoulders.

Next time you feel pushed down by the weight of the world, remember that he is there to take the load off you and put it on his own shoulders. All you have to do is ask and he will willingly ease your load.

Matthew 11: 28-30 Come unto me, all ye that labour and are heavy laden, and I will give you rest.  Take my yoke upon you, and learn of me; for I am meek and lowly in heart: and ye shall find rest unto your souls.  For my yoke is easy, and my burden is light.

Leave a Reply

