Leave a comment

True Prayer: Giving it All to God

older woman prayingI once heard a pastor say that if you weren’t sure how to pray, to picture Jesus sitting in a chair next to your bed like a friend would, and just talk to him as you would your friend. Think about it, Jesus is not just our lord, but our constant companion and friend.

Sometimes praying can be confusing. You might not be sure you are praying for the right things, especially where others are concerned. For example, you might be praying for what you think is right in their lives when you should be praying that god just works in their lives.

I try not to be judgmental. That doesn’t mean that I always succeed, especially when it comes to those family members that I know so well. It is very easy to look at a person’s past and assume they haven’t changed, especially when you are miles and miles away from them and unable to witness with your own eyes any changes they have made.

I pray off and on all day. Sometimes it is silly little things like “God give me the strength to open this jar so I don’t have to disturb someone else by asking them to do it.” Other times something may come to mind that is an urgent need and I may walk around praying for several minutes.

I am a bit OCD, aren’t we all in one way or another. Unfortunately this sometimes seeps into my prayers and I think that I have to give God exact instructions on how to answer certain prayers. I have caught myself doing this a couple of times and have been working on just giving it to God and letting it go, the same advice that I have given others but haven’t followed as often as I should.

Anyway, I started thinking about changing the way I pray. I searched through the bible and found several verses that give insight on how to pray (actually found a site that gives you 13 steps on learning how to pray) but after scrolling through it found out that I didn’t agree with what they said.

Matthew 6:6-8King James Version (KJV)
6 But thou, when thou prayest, enter into thy closet, and when thou hast shut thy door, pray to thy Father which is in secret; and thy Father which seeth in secret shall reward thee openly.
7 But when ye pray, use not vain repetitions, as the heathen do: for they think that they shall be heard for their much speaking.
8 Be not ye therefore like unto them: for your Father knoweth what things ye have need of, before ye ask him.

Psalms 145:18 The LORD is near to all them that call on him, to all that call on him in truth.

Philippians 4:6 Be careful for nothing; but in every thing by prayer and supplication with thanksgiving let your requests be made known to God.

1 Thessalonians 5:17 Pray without ceasing.

I changed up my prayers the other night and decided instead to just ask God to watch over and protect those I was praying about, to guide them and strengthen them, and to bless them as much as he has blessed me. It was time for me to follow my own advice and give it all to God.

Leave a Reply

