Leave a comment

Pray Without Ceasing

older woman praying
I fully believe in the power of prayer. The more prayers said for a certain need, the more attention the Lord pays to that need. There are many times I have asked for prayer, not just for myself but so many others and so many circumstances. I have had prayers answered before I was even done praying.

Sometimes the answers are not what we really want, but they are always what the Lord determines are best. For example, my late husband Ken suffered from a severe cardio myopathy and diabetes mellitus, probably one of the worst types you can have. By the time both were discovered they were very advanced. He was given 6 months to a year to live. By the grace of God he actually lived five more years and continued to touch the hearts of many during that time.

I always believed that someday God would do a miraculous healing of his body and he could go on preaching the word, which he so loved to do. No matter how sick he felt he was at every Church service and even worked in the Church during the week in the food pantry and other positions where he felt close to God and could share Gods word.

The night before he passed away, as I talked to the doctor on the phone, I prayed that God would either heal him or take him home. I didn’t know how much more he could take. God took him home the next morning, not the answer I preferred. It was a non-Christian who finally pointed out to me that my prayer had been answered two fold, he took him home and he healed him because he gave him a new body.

I read prayer requests off and on all day on Facebook, and it is assumed that if you like the status, you are agreeing in prayer. Somehow or another, just liking the status, to me, doesn’t seem to be enough so I always leave a comment that I am praying, and then immediately I pray.

Several times I have put up prayer requests and am sometimes amazed at the responses I get from my Face Book family and friends. The prayers are usually answered in a short amount of time. Recently I made a prayer request that involved adults and children in three different states. The main concern was the safety of the children and the second concern was the path that the adults were following.

Praise God that some of these prayers have been answered. The children are in safe havens now, and one of the adults has been put in a place where they can get the help, encouragement and love that they so badly need. I am still lifting the other adults up in prayer and I know that those prayers will be answered, hopefully soon.

I often think of how many times David prayed to the Lord and understand now why he never stopped. No matter what is going on in your life, good or bad, pray without ceasing. Pray with thankfulness for all he has done for you, pray for what you need, not want, and pray for those that you know not only need help in many ways, but also need to know the lord.

Ephesians 6:18 – Praying always with all prayer and supplication in the Spirit, and watching thereunto with all perseverance and supplication for all saints;

Matthew 21:22 – And all things, whatsoever ye shall ask in prayer, believing, ye shall receive.

1 Thessalonians 5:17 – Pray without ceasing

Leave a Reply

