Leave a comment

Seven, Eight and Nine

winter-landscape.jpgTwo days behind but I am writing them all down until I can post them on the site. Keeping a commitment can sometimes be difficult, especially when you are faithful to the Lord. Satan uses everything within his power to draw us away from anything that has to do with God. Whether it is filling our time up with extra chores or runs or just messing with our health, he will use every tool available to him. I really believe that sticking to this commitment that I have made I will increase my faith, increases my willingness to see things through, and share something positive that others might be able to identify with.

Thursday was a special day. I’m sure emotions were running high among various people and understandably so. Rich’s brother passed away on New Years day. This was his half brother from his moms first marriage so there are different families involved. His mother wanted to get all of her remaining children in one place, at one time, at least once more before she passes away. This was the perfect opportunity.

Families often fight among each other, have disagreements and such and sometimes family gatherings are the perfect atmosphere for these past disagreements to come up and emotions can run high, arguments can start, and sadly members can leave with more anger or hurt feelings.

Everyone met for a dinner and I was thankful that all had a good time, reconnected and laughed together and his mother fulfilled her dream of having all her children around the table once more together.

Friday was a major migraine day. It actually started late Thursday evening, became full blown by morning and lingered all day long. In treating my migraines (since they haven’t been able to come up with a medication that I can actually take or actually works) I have found that keeping my mind off it and trying to function normally seems to help. We even went out and walked out laps at the Hospital, even though we only did 10 instead of 15. So I was thankful that it wasn’t what I term a “Hospital” migraine, where I get nauseated, get the dry heaves and dehydrate.

Today it is bitterly cold out there. The weather report says snow and when I went out to make sure the car would start for us to go do our laps, I thought I saw some little white, icy pellets falling. The car is warmed up and ready when we are, but I was so thankful to be able to walk back into a warm, secure home. There were many times in my life where I didn’t have that advantage, but the Lord has supplied all of my needs. When he closed those doors, he opened so many more.

Romans 5:1-21
Therefore, since we have been justified by faith, we have peace with God through our Lord Jesus Christ. Through him we have also obtained access by faith into this grace in which we stand, and we rejoice in hope of the glory of God. More than that, we rejoice in our sufferings, knowing that suffering produces endurance, and endurance produces character, and character produces hope, and hope does not put us to shame, because God’s love has been poured into our hearts through the Holy Spirit who has been given to us. …

1 Corinthians 10:13
No temptation has overtaken you that is not common to man. God is faithful, and he will not let you be tempted beyond your ability, but with the temptation he will also provide the way of escape, that you may be able to endure it.

Revelation 12:9
And the great dragon was thrown down, that ancient serpent, who is called the devil and Satan, the deceiver of the whole world—he was thrown down to the earth, and his angels were thrown down with him.

Leave a Reply

