Leave a comment

What do We Take for Granted

winter-landscape.jpgJanuary 13, 2016

Life is busy. We all know that. As you get older, some things get harder to do. For instance, I cannot tolerate real cold or hot temperatures like I used to. Today, I am thankful for heat in the winter and air conditioning and fans in the summer. Our seasons have changed over time. Global warming or El Nino seem to be causing havoc each year. Unexpected tsunamis, hurricanes, tornadoes and storms strike anywhere without much notice. This year our winter has been very wet and cold. We have only had one snow fall so far, others were predicted but never came, but we have had some very cold days.

I think back to how our ancestors lived, having to get their heat from coal or cutting wood and building fires. I think of how they toughed out through long, cold and snow winters and extreme heat during the summer. We have it so much better now, but could we survive if the grid went down and we lost the luxury of furnaces and air conditioning? Gives you something to think about, doesn’t it. There are so many things we have today that we take for granted. I can’t imagine having to live with out these conveniences, even though there were a few times in my life that I did, but I know we could survive without them because we are stubborn race of people and we don’t give up, and the Lord has promised to take care of all of our needs.

January 14, 2016

I know this might sound funny to some, and to others it might not sit right, but I am thankful for the Internet and phone services. My family is scattered all over. Only my younger sister and her family live here in Missouri. I have relatives in Washington, Arizona, Ohio, Florida, and Oklahoma. If it wasn’t for the internet and phone services, it would be hard to stay in contact with them. I can remember when I was younger, we had a phone but couldn’t afford long distance, and there was no such thing as the internet, home computers, cell phones, iPads, iPods, tablets or notebooks. We wrote letters and sent them by snail mail. Depending on where they were going, it could take a couple weeks for them to arrive at their destination, and then a couple weeks for a return letter to arrive, so you only talked to relatives a couple times a year. Now with all the technological advancements we have, we can talk to our loved ones every day. It sure makes it a lot easier to pray for the needs of family and friends if you know immediately that they are in distress and need your prayers.

Leave a Reply

