Leave a comment

Prayer Warriors

lakeJanuary 19, 2016

I never understood the power of prayer when I was a new Christian. When people would tell me they were praying for me, I acknowledged and thanked them and never gave it another thought. But as I look back over the years, I can see so many prayers answered and so many needs that were met through no actions I took. Money found in a coat pocket that I couldn’t have put there because I never do that, the gas gauge on the car malfunctioning and having much more fuel than I thought, a phone call out of the blue from a relative I needed to hear from, groceries appearing on the front porch and so much more are just some of the examples of answered prayers.

I am thankful today for my prayer warrior friends. I know with a certainty that when I post a prayer request, there are far more praying than just the ones who like my status or comment on it. I post a lot of prayer needs, mostly for other family members and friends and the response is overwhelming. You can never have too many prayers said for you and it is such a comfort when you know others are praying right along with you.

January 20, 2016

I used to think that I didn’t have any good memories. So much of my life was surrounded with hard times, abuse and poverty. Even when I accepted Jesus as my savior, my mind dwelt always on the bad things that had happened to me. As I have studied God’s word and as I have looked back and looked for the positive memories in my life, I find that I have a whole lot of good memories. I just blocked them from coming forward.

I often tell others to look for something positive in their day, whether it is just a smile from a co-worker, a wave from someone on the street, or a kind gesture from a clerk at the store. When we go through trying times, it is hard to focus on the positive but if we can do that, the hardness of life seems to slip away a little at a time until the positive takes over. I am thankful today for all the good memories that I really do have.

January 21, 2016

Today I am thankful for easy days. When I was still in the work force, I would have to get up at 5 am, be on the road by 7 am, back to the office by 2 pm but would sometimes end up working until 10 or 11 pm. In between the runs I would grab my groceries, pay my bills, pick the grand-kids or Papa up from school or the senior center, make dinner, do dishes, throw in a load of laundry and then back to the computer to finish up my work.

Even when I worked in house at the company, I was there at 7 and usually not out until 5, plus I did work calling international schools from home because of the time difference off and on through the night. Life, for the most part was me running all the time.

Now I get up at 10:00, out the door by 1:15 on Rich’s infusion days and the rest is according to the schedule of “Lori”. I take naps when I need them, get groceries when I feel like it and clean house when I want, not that I ever let it get dirty to begin with. Even with our medical problems, life is so much simpler now and most days are a lot easier than they were the earlier part of my life.

Leave a Reply

