Leave a comment

Sunshine

sunrise-in-the-countryJanuary 25, 2016

We’ve had a really dreary winter. Instead of the normal snow we used to get, it seems that it has rained an awful lot. I don’t know if it has anything to do with global warming or not, but I know that over the years our season have changed a lot from what they were.

Scientists and health researchers say that our bodies need serotonin and vitamin d, both of which can be gotten from the sun. I read a while ago, probably several years ago that the suicide rate was higher in those areas that have several months of darkness, and I guess I can understand why because I do get depressed when the sky is constantly gray with rain clouds.

Today I am thankful for the sunshine. I love to get up early on Spring and Summer mornings, sit out on the front porch with my coffee and enjoy the sun, but there isn’t much chance of doing that during the winter months, but I am thankful for every time it decides to finally peak through those nasty, gray clouds on rainy/icy days

January 26, 2016

I am thankful today for a small town doctor. I have seen many doctors in my life time and it has always struck me how cold and aloof many of them seem to be. They don’t take much time to find out what is going on and are over eager to just throw a bunch of prescriptions at you. I have often thought that they must get a kick back on how may they prescribe, I don’t if that is true, but in some cases it could be. There was one doctor that had me taking 28 pills a day, only for me to find out later he was treating problems I didn’t even have.

Small town doctors and hospitals seem to take more time with their patients. They seem to truly care how you are feeling. My doctor will prescribe medications for obvious ailments, but if he isn’t positive about what he is treating you for, he will have specific tests down before throwing a bunch of prescriptions at you. He talks to you, treats you and accepts you as a personal friend and not just another file number.

January 27, 2016

My joints ache and my head hurts, on a daily basis. There are a lot of pain killers and anti-inflammatory that I can’t take because of allergic reactions, but what I can take does dull everything enough that I can still function pretty well on most days.

I am thankful today that I can get out of bed in the morning without any help, that I can go to the kitchen and make my own coffee, that I can sit down and read the news and check in at Facebook and that I can spend my day doing normal things.

I know so many people, people that used to be able to live a normal life that now have to live in assisted living or nursing homes that are the same age as I am. I pray for all of them but am thankful just to be able to get up and do normal things around the house, get some exercise at the hospital, and do my own shopping

Leave a Reply

