Leave a comment

Looking Into the Past

robinJanuary 27, 2016

We all think about the past, about the good things that happened, the bad things that happened, the mistakes we made, and the people we have lost. I’m sure most of us have thought that if we could go back in time, we would do things differently, there is always something we would change.

Since I became a Christian, the Lord has opened my eyes to the lessons he was teaching me. He has shown me all the steps he took to bring me to where I am today, to mold me into the person he wants me to be. I’m not perfect. None of us ever will be. We will still stumble and fall. It’s in our nature. We need to realize that where we have been is why we are where we are.

When we accept Jesus, all of our sins are forgiven and we start with a new slate, but doesn’t mean that God will erase the memories we have of those mistakes, and boy, do I have some doozies. I am now able to look at the result of those sins and mistakes and I can clearly see the lessons that I learned from them.

Sometimes I think I would change some of the things I did, but when I look at the whole picture, I was where I was because God wanted me there, I went through what I went through because he wanted me to learn strength, kindness, mercy, forgiveness and so much more. Today I am thankful for all the lessons he has taught me over the years.

January 28, 2016

The sky was the bluest it has been for a long time this morning. There were six little birds sitting up in the bare branches of the tree out back and many more flying around and chirping. The sun stayed out all day and the temps were in the 50’s.

Strange weather for January for sure. It has rained a lot and it has only snowed one time here. I can remember the first year I lived here, it snowed a few inches on Thanksgiving. My, how things have changed.

In a few months, it will hopefully get warmer and we can go back to walking the Radio Station Hill for our exercise. When we walked it last summer, we always took a camera with us to get some pictures of the trees, foliage, and flowers. We even got some pictures of a family of rabbits.

I believe that animals can tell if you will harm them, if you are some kind of threat to them. When I would sit on the front porch in the morning, the robins, blue jays and cardinals would fly up to the wire next to the porch and look at me and then fly away. Sometimes they would land on the railing not 3 feet from me. When we walked the hill, our family of rabbits would come out and watch us. I think that they got so used to us being there, that they accepted us as belonging there.

I cannot think of a time that I haven’t loved the things in nature and today I am thankful for the nature that God has surrounded us with. It is just so sad, that man, in his race to expand has destroyed so much of the beauty that God gives us.

Leave a Reply

