Leave a comment

One Month Down, Eleven More to Go

New-Years-EveThe Last Day of the Month

January 31, 2016

Today I am thankful to be alive!!! Before I accepted Jesus as my savior, my life was full of very bad things. I faced death several times but not at my own hand. My health was bad, my soul was filled with fear, bitterness, and hatred. I had no goals and the future looked very bleak. Then one day I started remembering my Sunday School lessons as a child, and remembered how to pray. Once I started praying and believing, once I re-accepted Jesus into my heart, many things started to change.

As I look back, I can see the very steps, the actual actions and help God sent me to remove me from those circumstances. I can see how he brought from one level to the next to bring me to where I am today. I am not perfect, nor will I ever be. I stumble and fall just like the next person, but I know I have forgiveness and hope in Jesus now.

Well, I did it!!!! I was able to find a blessing out of each day for 31 days. Actually I found several and it was difficult to choose which one to post. When you start looking for things to be thankful for, you start seeing just how many there are, and sometimes there are more than you can count. This positive outlook not only affects your spiritual health but your physical health as well.

Even though I had to post a couple days at a time, I didn’t let Satan deter me from doing this. I wrote down the dates and what I was thankful for on a pad by my computer until I would have a chance to elaborate on them. I’m going to keep going. It may be a 2-3 day post, but I will get them up. If we can’t find something in our lives to be thankful for every day of the year, then we are a sorry lot.

First Day of the Month

February 1, 2016

Last month was a challenge. Satan threw everything he could at me. Depression, illness, appointments and business. He tried his best to draw my attention away from doing this. There was a death in the family, there were multiple medical and health problems, and there were just days where I wanted to stay in bed all day and not face the world.

But I did it. I showed myself that I can do it. Even though it may work out the same this month and I might not get posts up for a few days, I am bound and determined to prove that I can find something to be thankful for each day.

While some of the things I choose may sound silly to some of you, it is just possible that they are something you take for granted, but what would happen if you all of a sudden lost those things you take for granted? I’ve been there and done that many times in my life. I have literally had to walk away from every material possession I had and you know what? I learned not to be materialistic.

Today I am thankful that God has shown me that the materialistic things in this world are temporary and not as important as my spiritual life, my love for my family, friends, neighbors and just people in general. I would much rather be homeless, a vagrant so to speak, than lose the love I have with Jesus and so many others.

February 2, 2016

Today I am thankful for healing. I got hit by some kind of virus thing. I was miserable. I had a choking, gagging cough, nausea, sneezing and body aches. We tend to think, at times, that even if we get a Flu shot we are invincible to everything. I don’t often get seasonal illnesses but when I do they seem to hit me twice as hard as they hit anyone else.

I used to be able to work through any illness. I never took sick days from work, in fact they had to send me reminders that I needed to take the allotted days before the beginning of the new year. Our company had what they called “PTO” or “Paid Time Off. It consisted of 6 sick days, 6 personal days and whatever vacation time you had accumulated, but once you got close to six weeks time saved, you had to take some time off. You couldn’t accumulate too much time.

I tried everything I could think of, nausea medicine, Zantac, Prilosec, saltine crackers and even some Tessalon pearls, which finally helped with the gagging cough. If I even looked at food I wanted to throw up. Every time I took something, I asked God to let it work and after three days it was gone. While you might not think you can learn anything from being sick, I beg to differ. If I catch a similar virus, I now know what I can take that will help.

Leave a Reply

