Leave a comment

Churches, Kids and Books

bibleMarch 6, 2016

I’ve been to several churches since I became a Christian. Now, don’t take that as me shopping around for a church like many other do, there were circumstances that caused me to move from one church to another including being asked to leave a church because I didn’t conform to their “Rules” when they thought they had the right to tell me what to do instead of leaving it up to God and moving to different states.

I left a few churches because they were not following the teachings of Jesus. When they should have been paying off the church debt, reaching out to neighborhood, reaching out to the poor and needy, they were more concerned about putting mosaic tile in the foyer. I have left churches that because they did nothing but preach on the glory of money, and sounded more like a commercial than a sermon.

Today I am thankful for the pastors at the churches that I attended that stuck with preaching the gospel the way it was supposed to preach. I am thankful for a 94 year old pastor that preaches on Sunday mornings on the Christian Worship Hour and has done so for over 36 years and doesn’t make it sound like he is making promises that only God can keep.

March 7, 2016

I have expounded on my love for my grand kids. To me they are beautiful just as all grand kids are to their grandparents. The joy of being a grandparent is that you can spoil the kids and then send them back to their parents (haha).

I love children. I am too old to take care of any or have any of the younger ones over for sleep overs, but it seems that all of my life I have in one way or another been involved with children. I helped raise several because their parents wouldn’t step up to the plate and do it. I was involved in a bus ministry, taught Sunday school and children’s church.

I just love walking through the hospital or Walmart and seeing young children, all energetic, jumping up and down, running hither and thither, and just basically driving their parents crazy. If their parents could see them through my eyes, they would see what a joy they are. Today I am thankful for all the playful, happy little children that I see and meet wherever I go.

March 8, 2016

I love books. Reading a book on the computer, downloading it to a tablet or iPad or listening to a recording of it just isn’t the same as turning the page of a good book to see what is going to happen next.

I especially like old books, books that were printed decades ago. They have a certain feel, a certain smell to them that is special. The pages may be yellow with age, some even falling apart, but it is like they hold some mysterious secret when you pick them up and start to read. I find the sketches that they used to use in older books, before photography came along, before they could print in color or use CGI to create exquisite pictures most interesting. Each line of the sketch comes from the authors heart as he/she was writing.

The most beautiful book I ever had, that got destroyed a long time ago, through no doing of my own was a bible with hand painted edging around the pages. It was done in large print with a real leather binding and I could spend hours reading and looking at the exquisite painting around the borders done in the bluest blues, the brightest reds and yellows, and trimmed in swirls of gold. I could thumb through that book and just get lost in the captioned pictures that were so detailed, depictions of stories we are all familiar with in the book of God.

It’s hard to find these old books anymore. Once in awhile you will find a decent one at a thrift store or you might find one online, but they ask such exorbitant prices. Today I am thankful for books, real books, the kind you can smell, feel and literally fall into the story as you read through it’s worn pages.

Leave a Reply

