Leave a comment

Music, Warmth, Death

Doves 001

Dove on Garage Roof

March 12, 2016

I have always been a lover of music. I loved the classic rock and roll when I was a teenager with singers like Elvis Presley, Lesley Gore, Petula Clark, The Mama’s and the Papa’s, the Beatles and so many more. But my parents introduced me to operas and the classics like Beethoven, Bach and Mozart also. My dad, who passed away when I was 5 had left my mom leather bound albums from when he played in Glenn Millers band so I was introduced to some fine orchestra type bands also. I love the old time gospel and some of the new charismatic christian music too.

2 Samuel 6:5 Meanwhile, David and all the house of Israel were celebrating before the LORD with all kinds of instruments made of fir wood, and with lyres, harps, tambourines, castanets and cymbals.

 

I think the music I enjoy the most is the music of nature. The singing of the birds, the chirping of the insects, the chatter of the small animals, the howling of the wind, the soft whisper of a breeze, the roll of the thunder and the pitter-patter of the rain. Today I am thankful for music, God made and man made.

March 13, 2016

I used to love to play in the snow, having snowball fights, making snowmen, snow angels and forts. Sledding on cardboard boxes or sliding down the hill on a blanket were great. As I got older and wandered from childhood to adulthood, I would love to walk around outside in a blizzard, or stand at the front window and watch all the big flakes falling to the ground.

As I have grown older and body is wearing down, I can no longer enjoy the snow as I used to. I still like to stand at the window and watch when there are big flakes coming down. I still love to wake up to a new snowfall, glistening in the sun, looking so pure and white, but today I am thankful for warmth, warmth from the furnace, the heater in my car, and warmth from the sun.

Mathew 5:45 That ye may be the children of your Father which is in heaven: for he maketh his sun to rise on the evil and on the good, and sendeth rain on the just and on the unjust.

March 14, 2016

Many of you may not agree with the “thankfulness” subject that I post today. Yesterday afternoon I received a phone call that my only child, my son, who was only 44, had been found unresponsive in his apartment. They were able to get a pulse back but didn’t know how long his brain had been without oxygen. They asked me to make a decision that night about pulling the plug, and I was in hysterics about all this. I told them I couldn’t make that decision and from what I was told the doctor designated his daughter as next of kin and gave her the authority to make a decision. I don’t know I wasn’t there.

This morning I got a message that he had passed around 2:00 AM. From what I was told they had him on two IV’s, propofol and antibiotics. I was told that he passed on his own just as they were getting ready to unhook the IV’s. They hadn’t disconnected the life support yet.

Today, I am thankful that I didn’t have to see my son die, that I didn’t have to see him in that hospital with all those tubes and wires connected to him. I regret that I didn’t have a chance to say goodbye. I was so hysterical when I talked to the doctors and the people that were up there with him that I never even thought to ask them to put the phone by his ear and let me talk to him. There were several family members who wanted to have a chance to say goodbye and didn’t get it. I pray some day they will find peace and know that he truly loved them with his whole heart.

Ecclesiastes 3: 1-14

For everything there is a season, and a time for every matter under heaven: a time to be born, and a time to die; a time to plant, and a time to pluck up what is planted; a time to kill, and a time to heal; a time to break down, and a time to build up; a time to weep, and a time to laugh; a time to mourn, and a time to dance; a time to cast away stones, and a time to gather stones together; a time to embrace, and a time to refrain from embracing;

Leave a Reply

