Leave a comment

Time

ClocksMarch 23, 2016

We live in such a busy, hectic world. We are going from the time we wake up until the time we go to bed, and we are going constantly on weekends. Work, shopping, after school activities, Church, dinners, social engagements, family events, school, doctor appointments, hairdresser appointments and extra curricular activities eat up the hours of the day.

Even being out of the work force, a person can find a lot of hours during the day eaten up with activities like shopping, doctor appointments, social obligations and family needs. I’ve been out of the work force since 2008 and yet my days seem awful busy for someone who is retired. There are trips to the hospital every 48 hours for infusions, trips to the store, trips to check on elderly family members, more trips to the store, trips to drop of documents to family services, trips to have the car repaired and so on.

I though when I wasn’t working that things would be a lot calmer. I would have time to just sit around the house and relax. Unfortunately that isn’t true. There always seems to be somewhere I have to go, and it usually isn’t for just a few minutes. My physical and medical problems require that I take a daily nap, and this in itself eats up a few hours. Oh, how I wish I had the energy I had when I was young.

I have been able to organize things a little where I still have some down time, no matter where I am. I take books to read at the hospital visits and doctors appointments. I carry a notebook to write down ideas and work on articles. I keep the house picked up for the most part and do a thorough cleaning every two weeks, I make simple dinners that are not time consuming. I throw a load of laundry in in the morning, throw it in the dryer, and fold it the next day.

I try to find ways to use my time constructively. I do have more time to read my bible and do research and write. I do have more time to communicate with people and work on my hobbies. I have developed house cleaning habits that eliminate the need for a thorough cleaning every day and I try to organize everything so finding something or doing something is only a few minutes out of my day.

Today I am thankful for time, the time to read my bible, the time to pray and reflect on the greatness of God, the time to think about all the other things that I am thankful for.

Ephesians 5:15

Look carefully then how you walk, not as unwise but as wise, making the best use of the time, because the days are evil. Therefore do not be foolish, but understand what the will of the Lord is.

1 Corinthians 14:40

But all things should be done decently and in order

Isaiah 33:6

And he will be the stability of your times, abundance of salvation, wisdom, and knowledge; the fear of the Lord is Zion’s treasure.

Leave a Reply

