Leave a comment

Doors, The Lords Word and Perseverance

Christ of the Ozarks

Christ of the Ozarks, Eureka Springs, Arkansas

March 24,2016

Revelation 30:20Behold, I stand at the door and knock. If anyone hears my voice and opens the door, I will come in to him and eat with him, and he with me.

Revelation 3:8“‘I know your works. Behold, I have set before you an open door, which no one is able to shut. I know that you have but little power, and yet you have kept my word and have not denied my name.

I’ve heard often said that when God shuts one door he opens another. Even though I can find no reliable bible verse that refers this, I often reflect on different areas of my life and I can clearly see how a door was open when another one was shut.

He has moved from one circumstance to another several times in my life, has moved from one neighborhood, one city and one state to another several times, and each time everything fell into place because I walked through the doors he opened.

When we moved to Vermont from Cleveland, we found a place rather quickly, and donations of household goods and furniture appeared at our residence without our asking for it. When we moved to Florida, we carried everything we had in the back seat and trunk of the car, and before a month was over we had a place to live, furniture, and I had a job.

When I moved from Florida back to Cleveland, it only took a week to find a place, furnish it and have everything set up for me to start work. When I moved from Cleveland to Butler, Missouri we had an apartment and I was set up to work. Within a month we had all the pieces of furniture we needed. I remember coming in off the road to find a couch sitting on my porch.

Today I am thankful for some of the doors God closed and even more thankful for the ones he has opened in my life.

March 25, 2016

My son passed away on March 14, 2016. A few days later we found out that my granddaughter was missing when we weren’t able to contact her about her fathers death. Apparently there was a glitch in communication. She went missing from her group home on December 17th, a missing person/endangered persons report was made on December 26th but no one called any members of the family to tell them.

I had been talking to her on Facebook up until March 10th and then she went silent. When her mother went to make a missing persons report, she found out she had been missing all of that time. We sent out posters all over Facebook, many people shared them, and we asked all of our prayer warrior friends to pray, asking that she would be found safe and sound. She was located today and is safe with her mother now.

Today I am thankful that the Lord is true to his word.

John 14:13Whatever you ask in my name, this I will do, that the Father may be glorified in the Son. If you ask me anything in my name, I will do it.

Mark 11:24Therefore I tell you, whatever you ask in prayer, believe that you have received it, and it will be yours.

March 26, 2016

When the world says, “Give up,” Hope whispers, “Try it one more time.” ~Author Unknown

Merriam Webster:Perseverance continued effort to do or achieve something despite difficulties, failure, or opposition : the action or condition or an instance of persevering: steadfastness

The last two weeks have been pretty rough on me. Death is a fact of life, we all will die, but there is a pain associated with losing a child, even a grown up one, that is completely different than any other, especially when it is your only child.

I’ve lost several family members and one spouse to death, and God has been merciful in allowing me not to be there to see them die or see their body with exception of my late husband Ken. This is also the case with my son. He lived in Cleveland while I reside in Missouri. I did not have the means to travel, and it wouldn’t have done much good, he was gone quickly.

I found it very hard to write for the last two weeks. I know I still had so much to be thankful for, so many blessings that I didn’t deserve, that I in no way earned, but it was hard to do. But, I did it. I caught up on the days I missed, and even in my sorrow and pain found something to be thankful for.

All of my life I have been the type of person who always tried to finish something I started, no matter how difficult it seemed. When I set my mind to something there was nothing that could stop me. My mother called it stubbornness or willfulness and my employers loved it.

Today I am thankful that God saw fit to make me a person who perseveres.

Leave a Reply

