Leave a comment

Lessons, Pain Free Days and Small Town Hospitals

Jesus with children 2March 29, 2016

I’ve said it myself. Many people say it today. “If I knew then what I know now” or “ If I could go back I would change this or that.” I have often thought about events in my past, easily seeing the wrong decisions I made and wondering what the out come would have been if I knew then what I know now.

There are lessons we learn as we live. Whether our life starts out good and we hit bumpy roads or if our life seems to continue on a downward slope from the start. Even if our life seems to level out and nothing seems to happen, there are still lessons in each day.

Before I turned to Jesus, my life was a mess. I was living in a controlled, abusive situation with a person and even though I would pray, it seemed I would never get away. Eventually God opened the doors for my escape and I realize now, looking back, that there were experiences he wanted me to go through first because of the valuable lessons I would learn.

Today I am thankful for the lessons he has allowed me to learn, both good and bad.

March 30, 2016

I don’t talk too much about my physical, medical or emotional problems because I don’t want to sound like a complainer. When I look at what I deal with and compare to the problems many others have, it all seems so trivial and insignificant.

There are millions of people who deal with chronic pain on a daily basis, and even though our society has developed many types of pain killers, there are those that are just as dangerous as the drugs on the street, some even more so.

One of my afflictions is chronic migraines. When they first started years ago, they were sporadic, a few here and there but they were so severe that would end up in the ER on bags of fluids and morphine. I actually had an evaluation done at the Cleveland Clinic Headache Clinic and they told me the were caused by injuries to the head. That’s a long story and maybe I will get to it at some point. They told me there was a chance they might change over time, possibly getting worse, getting better, showing up less often or more frequent.

I usually have a migraine at some point, almost everyday. There are so many different possible triggers such as too much stress, too much sodium, too much sugar, too much chocolate, weather changes, temperature changes and different types of noise, just to name a few.

Coupled with the arthritis, which is a daily drain, some days are just about unbearable, but I try my hardest to treat each day the same, going about my business, cleaning the house, doing laundry, washing dishes and preparing meals.

I am thankful today for those days that are pain free, even though they may be few, there are periods of time where I will have several in a row.

March 31, 2016

In biblical times they didn’t have physicians, doctors offices, clinics and hospitals like they do today. If someone was sick they went to the priests. They may have offered sacrifices for healing, and often times, depending on the affliction, they may have been banned from being around the village people and family members until such time as they were healed or passed away. Leprosy was the most mentioned affliction in the bible. Even childbirth caused a woman to be quarantined away from everyone for months.

Today there are many medicines that help, quite a few that do harm, but for the most part, our doctors and researchers are allowed by God to discover different treatments for different afflictions and diseases, and that is as it should be since a lot of them are caused by the damages our scientists, engineers and others have caused to this planet God gave us to live on.

Large city hospitals are often cold and clinical. You are treated like a number or case file. Questions are asked, tests are run and treatments and prescriptions handed out. Interaction between the nurses, doctors and patients is cold and unfriendly to say the least.

Small town hospitals are different. In a small town everyone knows you. Everyone knows where you live, where you shop, where you go to church and what kind of job you have. People in small towns tend to be closer, friendlier and more involved with each other. There is an unwritten law that everyone waves or says hi, no matter where you go.

Small town physicians, nurses and hospitals have an easier time getting to know you because they are not swamped like those in the larger, more populated areas. When you walk in they call you by your first name, take a few minutes just to talk about normal things around town or in your life. They actually talk to you, they actually interact with you.

Today I am thankful for our small town hospital, for all the people that work there that are not only our nurses and doctors, but our friends, our extended family.

Leave a Reply

