Leave a comment

Random Acts of Kindness,Gods Beautiful World,and Lower Bills

robinApril 1, 2016

I just love random acts of kindness. I love to read the stories of single people, groups of people, and communities coming together to do something for someone in need. I try to do or say something kind every day. It feels good, and you can tell by the look on other peoples faces that it feels good to them also.

I live in a small country town, yet from day one I have met the sweetest, kindest people here. It’s almost like there is an unwritten law in town that says you must wave or say hi to everyone you see. I like that. I have felt like I belong here since the day I first arrived.

The other day, while in Walmart shopping, a young lady, an employee of the store, walked up to me and gave me a hug and told me she was sorry to hear about the death of my son. I don’t remember seeing her before, but I don’t really pay attention to all the employees running around. She told me she was a friend of my niece and had seen my post about my son.

I was smiling from ear to ear as I walked up to the check out counter. She doesn’t know how much her random act of kindness affected me. She didn’t know me, we had never spoken, in fact I don’t think I had ever noticed her around the store before, but she went out of her way to express her condolences to me.

Today I am thankful for the kindness of others and random acts of kindness.

April 2, 2016

I can never say enough of about nature. It is beautiful and it is there, functioning on it’s own without the help of man. When I moved to this small town, I took many rides out in the country, just to smell the fresh air, to see the trees, the fields of flowers, to smell the new mown hay, and yes even the pungent smell of cow fields.

No matter where I drove, there was something beautiful to see. Small rivers with old bridges across them, moss covered, abandoned old barns, flowers, trees, vines, bushes and grass were in abundance everywhere I went. Sometimes I would pull off the side of the road, get out of the car, and just stand there taking it all in.

I enjoy some of the advances we have made as the human race, but there are many that are ugly and destructive. When I think of the pollution in Cleveland that I breathed for over 33 years, I can scarce believe that I am still alive and healthy.

Today I am thankful for such a beautiful world, the parts that still remain, the quiet areas where you feel like you can really get close to God and the serene feeling you get standing out there in the real world that he created for us.

April 3, 2016

We all know that with the changing of season our utility bills change. In the fall they are lower because the temperatures are still warm enough that you don’t need the heat, yet cool enough you don’t need the air conditioning. In the Spring it is much the same way.

When winter hits with it’s icy cold fingers, the electric and fuel bills rise because you constantly have to run the furnace. In the hottest part of summer, you can expect the electricity to go up because you have to run fans and/or an air conditioning unit or two. Air conditioning has never been a good friend of mine. There is something about air conditioning that seems to trigger my migraines, but there are times during the summer where it is necessary to run it, if even for a short period of time.

Today I am thankful for lower utility bills. That extra money helps me to catch up on car repairs, replacement items needed in the house, and a little extra cash for flowers and seeds for the yard.

Leave a Reply

