Leave a comment

Thunderstorms, Small Town Businesses and Salvation

lighteningApril 4th, 2016

Even as a child, I enjoyed thunderstorms. I used to sit out on the porch during a thunder storm and just listen to the sound of the wind and thunder and watch the torrents of rain falling. As I got older, I found that I slept very soundly if there was a thunderstorm going on. I never quite understood it, as many people become frightened during a storm with loud thunder and flashes of lightening.

Maybe in my heart and soul, I know I have nothing to fear. Beliefs of old often held that the thunder was God talking and the lightening signs of his power. Considering that he made everything that exists, maybe the thunder is an echo of his voice and the lightening a show of his strength, either way, I have never been afraid of thunderstorms. In fact, I think they are just awesome.

Of course I don’t enjoy it if there is flooding or I hear that a lightening strike has caused someone to be injured, lose their home or lose their life, but for the most part that is not always what happens in a thunderstorm.

Today I am thankful for thunderstorms. To me there is just something peaceful yet powerful in them.

Job 37: 4-5After it, a voice roars; He thunders with His majestic voice, And He does not restrain the lightnings when His voice is heard. “God thunders with His voice wondrously, Doing great things which we cannot comprehend.

2 Samuel 22:14″The LORD thundered from heaven, And the Most High uttered His voice.

April 5, 2016

I’ve dealt with a lot of different businesses in my life, sometimes for personal reasons and sometimes in the line of work. I had to learn some people skills to deal with some of the large businesses I have had conversations and interactions with, and for the most part, you also need a lot of patience.

It seems to be an unwritten rule in big business that you get as much from the client as possible while giving the least that you can. I’ve recently been going around and around with our cable company over rising prices for a simple cable package and slow moving internet. I don’t believe they should be allowed to raise prices without notice, and they’ve done it twice in the last two months.

When I spoke to them on the phone, asking about a special they had going where you could get phone, internet and TV for 25.00 a month which would be 42.00 less than I am paying now for cable and internet, they wouldn’t allow me to take advantage of it unless I took the phone service also, which I didn’t need. Needless to say, I had to go ahead and pay the bill while I start shopping around for a different company.

Small, privately owned businesses seem to care more about their customer than making a large profit. We recently had to take “old Bertha” in for a new battery and tires. The people we go to have always been fair with us, trying to give us the best deal and best work that they can. We have found this attitude to be true for most of the businesses in town. We only ran into difficulty with one who has a no refund policy so they got a double profit off an item we bought because we couldn’t pick it up.

Today I am thankful for the honest, hard working and friendly small businesses in our town.

April 6, 2016

I can clearly remember the night that I knelt at the altar and accepted Jesus as my savior. When I stood up and took in a breath, it was the sweetest breath I had ever taken, it was like I hadn’t been breathing before and this was my first breath. In truth that is exactly what it was, because on that day I was reborn, born anew in the Kingdom of Jesus. From that moment on my life starting changing, very quickly in ways I never imagined.

We will never understand the workings of God. He is not accountable to us about everything he chooses to do, but he is GOD, our creator, the creator of all things including us, he is our eternal father, a father that loved us so much that he allowed his son to be scourged and crucified for our sins. He was the final sacrifice.

Today I am thankful for my salvation, bought and paid for by the blood of Christ.

Ephesians 2:8 For it is by grace you have been saved, through faith – and this is not from yourselves, it is the gift of God

Titus 2: 11 For the grace of God has appeared that offers salvation to all people

Peter 1:9 For you are receiving the end result of your faith, the salvation of your souls

Leave a Reply

