Leave a comment

Sunsets, Stars and Peaceful Days

sunsetssss 007

Winter Sunset, Butler, Missouri

April 7, 2016

When I lived in Florida, I used to drive down to the beach and watch the sun set out over the ocean. It was so peaceful, just sitting there, listening to waves lapping up onto the beach, watching the sea gulls flying around overhead and watching the sun sink beneath the ocean.

I have seen some beautiful sunsets here in Missouri also. I love watching it set in the west, when there are just a few clouds out, turning them orange and yellow and then to pink and red. It still amazes me every day the beauty that God put in this world, and it hurts my heart to think about how much of that beauty has been altered or destroyed by the human race.

Today I am thankful for beautiful sunsets. They remind me that God is still in control and that he gave me another day to spend with those I love.

April 8, 2016

Some people call the stars the pathways of the Angels. On a clear night, standing out on the back deck, we can see a multitude of the stars. It is easy to pick out the Big Dipper, the Little Dipper, the North Star and Mars. If you go back out a few hours later, the sky looks different because the earth has rotated many times since the first time we looked at the stars.

On warm nights, I could just stand out there forever and look at this amazing view, understanding the whole time that God made all of this. That he is such a powerful being, that he could create all of this in this vast space, could put it all together in six days, and I just marvel at all he has done.

The sun that keeps ups warm is only of 200 billion plus stars. Eight planets rotate around that huge star, Mercury, Mars, Pluto, Neptune, Jupiter, Venus, Saturn, Uranus and Earth. Although there are many who believe the Earth is the only planet with intelligent races, I have to wonder. God is not a wasteful being, and I can’t see him making all of this just for our enjoyment. Oh well that is a discussion for another time.

Today I am thankful for the stars, for clear starry nights that remind me of the power and capabilities of my God, that assure me that he can and will do anything for those he love

April 9, 2016

When I was younger, a toddler, and adolescent, a teenager, even a young adult with a small baby, life seemed so much simpler. You don’t realize until you move from home all that your parents have actually done for you. They raised you, clothed you, fed you, put a roof over your head, sent you to school to get an education and did so much more.

As I have gotten older, I have come to realize that life is busy. When I was in work force, I worked from 8 to 16 hours a day, depending on what job I held at the time. I awoke early and sent kids to school, even if I worked the second or third shift. I had a house to keep clean, laundry to do, meals to prepare, homework to help with, and grocery shopping, all in between the time I worked.

Even now, being disabled and not having to go to a job each day, I still find my days filled with chores and trips that have to be made. But that isn’t the half of it. Because I have family in five different states, I seem to be the person they call or text when there is a problem, and lately, since the death of son, it seems there have been a multitude of problems.

I don’t like negativity. I try to stay away from it every chance I get, but I won’t turn family members away because they are going through bad times. I let them vent, I make suggestions which are often met with stubbornness and willfulness and sometimes bitter words, and then I pray for them.

Today I am thankful for the peaceful days, the days where we don’t have to go to the store or the doctors, the days where everyone seems to be surviving without a lot of problems, the days when the phone doesn’t ring and I don’t receive a dozen texts.

Leave a Reply

