Leave a comment

A Colorful World, The Food Pantry and Trials and Tribulations

rainbowApril 10, 2016

We were taught in school that the primary colors were Red, Blue and Yellow with the Neutral colors of black and white. From these five colors, we were to assume all other colors could be made by making different combinations. The Rainbow usually has seven  colors although some of them may seem to fade into the others. These consist of Red, Orange,Yellow, Green, Blue, Indigo and Violet.

By blending different colors in different quantities, we have such a panorama of colors that the list is never ending. Wikipedia for instances list over 40 different shades of red that include such shades as crimson, brick, cardinal among many others. They also list over 60 shades of blue that include such varieties as royal, sky, cobalt, azure, and baby blue. Green has over 50 different shades listed including but not limited to several forest greens, moss green, lime green, sea green and mint green.

Artists, scientists and researchers all claim to have found all of these different color combinations, but in truth they exist in the very nature around us and were copied directly from Gods handiwork. Just take a look at the flowers, trees, vegetables and fruits that we enjoy. So many different types and colors and they all stem from the handy work of God. Today I am thankful that we live in such a vibrant, colorful world.

April 11, 2016

Just about every city has a food pantry or a food bank. The larger cities may have one in each neighborhood. Some of them are started by church groups and others by well meaning organizations that work to improve living conditions of the poor and homeless. When I lived in Cleveland, I had a chance to visit some of these food banks during different periods in my life. I actually felt insulted at some because the people seemed so cold and some were actually insulting and cruel. They made you feel bad because you needed to ask for help.

We have a food pantry in Butler. It is not as big as the ones in large cities like Cleveland or Kansas City and they don’t serve as many people because Bates County is mostly farmland. It is run by an Alliance for the Churches and volunteers. I have never felt so welcomed in a place that offers help before. Not only are they kind, they are genuinely interested in what is going on in your life, and they always pray with you before you go back to get your food.

Today I am thankful for our community food pantry, not just for the food that helps us make it through the month, but for the caring and genuine friendship all that work there.

April 12, 2016

You’ve heard it said that what doesn’t kill us makes us stronger. I’m not sure where that saying came from, but there is some truth to it. I can’t think of one family member or friend that hasn’t gone through many hard times during their life.

Abuse, addiction, financial issues, relationship problems, divorces, death, and illness all seem to be the norm for society today. Some people jump from one relationship or marriage to another as if they were just changing places to party at. True love is not found, it is a gift from God. He is the one who puts people together that stay together.

I have family members and friends that seem to have no problem rolling with the punches, so to speak and yet there are others who wallow in their problems, holding onto every detail long after they have passed and others have come over the horizon. One family member even told me that they never want to forget or forgive. Needless to say they are on the top of my prayer list.

I used to tell people that I have been to hell and back, and sometimes looking back, it seems that way. Many have said that I have had more than my share of bad times, but I must say this, no matter what I have been through, I have made it through, and I have learned something from the experience. It is only by the grace of God that I made it out of some situations, and hopefully I have learned what he wanted me to learn.

Today I am thankful for trials and tribulations. To me they are a sign that Satan is angry because God is still working in my life.

Philippians 4:13  I can do all things through Christ which strengtheneth me

Romans 12:12 Rejoice in hope, be patient in tribulation, be constant in prayer

Leave a Reply

