Leave a comment

Sleep and Books

libraryApril 15, 2016

I can remember times in my life when sleep wasn’t much of an option. During one phase of my life, I didn’t get home until 3 am, wouldn’t settle down for bed until around 4 am and then had to get up at 7 am to get kids off to school and take care of infant, kids that were not my own, but the parents wouldn’t take responsibility for them.

During another phase, I woke up at 5am was at work by 7am, didn’t get out until 4 pm, and then woke up every two hours to make international calls for the company from home. These were calls that could not be made during business hours because of the time differences. Not only did I get up every two hours for these calls, but there were many times that Ken would call out in the night and I would run to his bedside to see to his nights.

When I went on the road for the company, I was up at 5am, on the road by 7am, and would sometimes work until 11 or 12 pm. All during these times, I also suffered from PTSD and depression and would often wake from nightmares. Sleep just wasn’t a big part of my schedule.

I still have a crazy schedule even though I don’t work anymore. Sometimes there are trips late at night to the ER, other times my mind is going for hours after I lay down, and I still have the nightmares to contend with.

Today I am thankful for the days I can take a nap, for the nights without nightmares and the sleep that I can enjoy at those times.

April 16, 2016

I was always at the top of my class in reading. It seemed to just come as second nature to me. I always had my face stuck in a book. When I was a teenager, I would walk from my home in Pueblo to the grade school six blocks away, with my nose stuck in a book. My mom laughed about it and said she didn’t know anyone else that could walk down a street, reading, and never misstep or stumble on anything. During the summer I averaged a book a day. During the school year I turned in more book reports than anyone in my class.

I love to read. I read a variety of books, from adventure stories, bizarre stories, science fiction, and biblical related material. I never went in for the romance stuff. I found it boring and some of it completely appalling. I don’t like e-books either. There is just something about holding that book in your hand and turning the page to see what happens.

In biblical times, before they created scrolls and written works, everything was handed down by word of mouth, most of it told exactly as it had been told for centuries, but I often wonder if there wasn’t some embellishment in certain circles along the way. Time Life has a series of books that talk all about the biblical times, all about the different versions of the bible, and even about how different sects broke off and changed the belief system to fit their own needs.

Today I am thankful for books. Not only do they peak my interest, but I have learned so much from reading.

Leave a Reply

