Leave a comment

Friends, Family and Hope

Doves 001April 17, 2016

When I was small, in grade school, I didn’t have many friends. In my teen years, in Junior High school I three friends that were my best friends. We did everything together. You wouldn’t see one of us alone during the summer, either two of us or all three of us were together. I recently connected with two of these friends through Facebook. I call them my life long friends because I have known them longer than anyone else. We chat back and forth, play a few games together, unload our problems on each other and always say goodnight and send prayers.

During High School I didn’t have but one friend, and that was my boyfriend. I was not good at making friends. I was nerd, I was the one with straight “A’s” all the time. I was the one who was embarrassed by my teachers when they would point me out as an example at the end of each grading period because I would have to wear the silly ribbons for Presidents list, deans list, Honor Roll, Merit Roll and Citizenship. I was so glad when they finally just handed them out and didn’t make you pin them on your shirt.

Over the years I have had friends that have come and gone. Some good friends, some not so good friends. Today I have hundreds of friends, most of them from churches I was involved in, in different states. I enjoy chatting with them on FB and sharing the wonderful things he has done in my life.

Today I am thankful for my friends, the ones I have now, and the ones that have come and gone.

April 18, 2016

I have a huge family. Seriously, I have had seven mothers and seven fathers, five brothers, four sisters and not all of them are related. How can this be? I had four foster mothers and four foster fathers, and my mother was married three times, so I had three step-fathers. I had four foster brothers and two foster sisters, one brother, and three sisters.

That is my family, however my family is much bigger today. My older sister had four sons, so that is four nephews. My younger sister had two girls and one boy, that’s another nephew and two nieces. My late husband Ken had one brother and two sisters, so that’s one more brother and two more sisters. Rich had one sister, one half sister, one brother and two half brothers, plus his mom, Ken’s mom etc.

When you start adding all the in-laws, step-sibling and parents, foster parents and foster siblings, nieces, nephews, grand children and great grand children, you see that you have a much bigger family that you thought. Now if you add others that you consider family, like your doctor, the nurses at the clinics, the people you know at the various stores, some of your neighbors and all of your brother and sisters in Christ, your family gets even bigger.

Today I am thankful for my family, the ones that are with me today, and the ones who have been with me at other times.

April 19, 2016

Merriam Webster defines “Hope” as the feeling that something wanted can be had or events will turn out for the best. The bible has many verses that talk about hope. One of my favorite ones is 1 Peter 3 “Praise be to the God and Father of our Lord Jesus Christ! In his great mercy he has given us new birth into a living hope through the resurrection of Jesus Christ from the dead. “ and “ Psalm 147: 11 “the Lord delights in those who fear him, who put their hope in his unfailing love.”

Where would we be if we didn’t have hope. There are times in our lives that there might not seem to be any hope, but as long as we love the lord, obey his commandments, and put our faith him, then there is always hope. It is always there, and he is always there, all we have to do is call on him, all we have to do is believe in him.

I can remember many times in my life when I didn’t think there was any hope. I didn’t want to wake up and face each day because there was no hope in it. I felt that there was no reason for me to be living. Because I didn’t have hope, I didn’t have dreams or ambitions for the future. One day was the same as the one before it. I call them gray days because without hope there didn’t seem to be any color in my life. Everything was bland, dull and colorless. All of that changed when I accepted Jesus and now I wake each day with new hope for things to come.

Today I am thankful for “Hope”.

Leave a Reply

