Leave a comment

Every Breath I Take, Sight and Emotions

eyeApril 22, 2016

When a new baby is born, the doctor will smack it on the bottom or rub it’s back to get it to take that first breath. Diseases that affect your breathing are not uncommon. We live in a society that constantly pollutes the air we breath and intensify and in some cases actually causes these diseases. Asthma, COPD, Pleurisy and Pneumonia are just a few of the diseases and illnesses that can affect your breathing.

Modern medicine has developed many different machines that help with breathing. I have seen friends and family that were intubated, a machine doing their breathing for them. I have several friends that use a CPAP machine at night because of Sleep Apnea and several more who must use oxygen 24 hours a day for sever allergies, asthma and COPD.

Today I am thankful for every breath I take.

April 23, 2016

When I was a child, I used to close my eyes and walk around the house. I would count the steps from the bathroom to the bedroom, living room, kitchen and front door. I would memorize where each piece of furniture was, where the rugs were, where certain items in the kitchen, cabinets and refrigerator were. Why would I do this? I wanted to see for myself if I could function without my sight.

I often wondered what it would be like to be blind. They say your other senses increase if you lose your sight. I would sometimes sit with my eyes closed and listen to the sounds around me to see if I could identify what they were and where they were coming from. Doing these exercises has helped me in a way. If the electricity goes off at night and I don’t have a flashlight, I can still find my way around the house without stumbling or running into things. My friends and family have laughed about it, saying that I have cat eyes.

While my vision is worse than it was years ago, I can still see fairly well. My distance vision is excellent, but I need reading glasses when I work on the computer or read something. I have often felt bad for those who cannot see. They miss all the colorful scenes in daily life, the bright and beautiful flowers, the clear blue sky, the green grass and trees, and mostly the expressions on peoples faces. Today I am thankful for my sight.

April 24, 2016

I have been sorrowful. I have been angry. I have been happy. I have been joyful. I have been irritated. I have disliked someone and I have loved many. I have experienced just about every type of emotion there is.

Imagine what it would be like if we had no emotions? Without emotions you wouldn’t even have a sense of right or wrong. That little voice wouldn’t tell you when you shouldn’t say or do something. Unfortunately there are good emotions and bad emotions. We have the power, given to us through Jesus, to control our emotions. I’m not saying we can stop our emotions, but we have the power to curb them when necessary, or let them out when needed.

I think the worse emotion is anger. Anger leads to hatred. Hatred can lead to violent words and actions. I do my very best not to get angry, but I am, after all, human, and sometimes I do get angry. I get sick when I get angry, so I try not to let that emotion take over.

I like feeling love, joy, and happiness. They lift my spirit. They make me feel good inside, and when I feel good inside, it shows on the outside. When it shows on the outside, then it can have a positive effect on those around me. Today I am thankful for my emotions. Even though anger is the least one I want to experience, I am sure there is a reason that God gave it to us.

Leave a Reply

