Leave a comment

Productive Days, Caring People and Feeling Better

missouri river

Missouri river

April 28, 2016

It seems that for the largest part of my life, I was always busy. From the time I woke up until I went to bed I was on the go. Sometimes I would end up working double shifts or two jobs or a ton of overtime. I helped raise seven children besides my own, so I was also busy trying to keep the house clean, prepare meals, do laundry, get kids to school, get kids home from school and still work all the hours that I needed to to pay the bills.

In 2008 I became disabled. The wear and tear on my body started taking its toll, and it did it rather quickly. It felt like it happened almost over night, it wasn’t something gradual that I could feel coming on. One day I was fine, and the next I hurt all over.

There are days when the PTSD and depression kick in pretty badly and I wander around the house, not wanting to do much of anything. Of course, I make myself do the basics like laundry, dishes, making the bed and preparing meals, but I don’t seem to be able to focus much on anything.

I pray for the days when my migraines and arthritis decide to leave me alone and the depression and PTSD takes a day off. On those days I can be pretty productive. Today I am thankful for productive days, I enjoy them so much more than the others.

April 29, 2016

I recently had an allergic reaction a medicine. I know I mentioned this in another post. I don’t usually ask for prayers for myself unless something is severely wrong, and this reaction stopped me dead in my tracks. I couldn’t function, I couldn’t rest, nothing I did made feel better.

So on this occasion, I posted a prayer request on Facebook, asking all of my prayer warrior friends to please pray for me. Word spread quickly on social media and just as quickly in small towns like this. Besides getting a huge response on Facebook, for the next few days, everyone I ran into in town inquired about my health and extended prayers and wishes for a speedy recovery.

Today I am thankful for the closeness and caring of people in this small town

April 30, 2016

I have never been the type of person to be babied. I know myself well enough to know that when I am sick, I can’t stay in bed. I have to get up, start moving around, start doing things. By forcing myself to function through an illness, I seem to actually push myself into getting better quickly.

It is for this reason that I will not even stay overnight in the hospital unless the doctor says it is absolutely necessary. The last time I was in the hospital was last January, when I spent two days in there after my cancer surgery. According to everyone I talked to, I recovered from my hysterectomy faster than anyone else they knew. I know it was because of the way I treat myself when I am ill.

A recent illness set me back for a day, it was a real struggle to force myself to respond in the right way. I was weak and just couldn’t seem to find one ounce of energy, but I still pushed through until I got back to being me, about three days later. Today I am thankful to be feeling better.

Leave a Reply

