Leave a comment

Six at One Time : Catching Up

Jesus with children 2May 1, 2016

Most everyone has that one best friend, someone they trust, someone they confide in, someone they feel safe with. As you go through different levels in your life, you may go through a few best friends. I have two best friends from Junior High that I reconnected with through Facebook. We talk back and forth and we tell each other “goodnight, love and prayers” every night. We share jokes and links and problems with each other. We have know each other for 51 years. We are lifelong friends.

But I have a best friend that has been with me since birth. This friend is also one I can talk to, share with, listen to, and confide in. This best friend is by my side day and night, 24 hours a day, 7 days a week. I can talk to this friend anytime I want. I don’t have to send an e-mail. I don’t have to call a number, and I don’t have to go on a Social network to talk to this friend.

I lost track of this best friend for a number of years but we reconnected in 1993 when I was on my knees praying at an alter. He reminded me that he had always been with me, had never left me, and was just waiting for me to re-acknowledge that he was there. This best friend is also the best friend to millions of other people. His name is Jesus. Today I am thankful for my best friends and especially the one who wants to be your best friend too. All you have to do is ask him.

May 2, 2016

I have know people from all walks of life. I have known poor ones, rich ones and middle class ones. I have known bad people and good people. I have known people with great health, people afflicted by diseases, birth defects, and disabilities.

I have know people that have never walked in their life, people who have lost the ability to walk. I have known people who were blind from birth and ones who went blind later in life. I have been friends with people who cannot hear.

I have often wondered how I would react if I fell into the category of those who cannot walk. How would I respond to using a walker or being confined to a wheel chair for the rest of my life. Would I be resentful? Would I be hateful and miserable? Would I blame someone for the loss of my ability to walk? I don’t think I would do that. I might be depressed for awhile and it would take me awhile to adjust, but I wouldn’t lose my faith over it. Today, though, I am thankful for my legs and the ability to still walk and move around.

May 3, 2016

Matthew 7: 13-14 Enter through the narrow gate, for wide is the gate and broad is the road that leads to destruction, and many enter through it. But small is the gate and narrow the road that leads to life and only a few find it.

Revelation 3:5 the one who is victorious, will like them, be dressed in white. I will never blot out the name of that person from the book of life, but will acknowledge that name before my Father and his Angels.

I have met many people from different denominations throughout my life. Baptists, Pentecostals, Jews and Catholics, just to name a few. I, myself, am Pentecostal, but I know that there are many faithful Christians in other denominations. I know that there are many who have accepted Jesus as their savior and try to live according to the way he says we should. In the days when Jesus preached, there were mostly Jews and Pagans.

It wasn’t until several years after he was crucified that his believers were to be called Christians and even then there rose different groups who argued over what to believe about him, what his words and instructions were and whether any of the old rules should have a place in the new denomination. Out of this grew the Catholic Church, and it remained the main church for centuries.

Sadly, the church leaders allowed many Pagan activities and deities to be renamed and “Christianized” to attract Pagans to convert to Christianity. Many of these statues, symbols, and rituals still exist in many churches around the globe. Many of these groups have become so legalistic that they have forgotten what being a Christian meant.

It is not by good works, praying to saints, making certain sacrifices, going through different rituals that you are assured a place in heaven. It is by truly believing in Christ, repenting of your sins, sharing his words and love and living as he directed that you will have your mansion in the sky.

Today I am thankful for my place in Heaven, I am assured of my forever home.

May 4, 2016

I’ve lived in many different types of homes during my life. Single houses, duplexes, apartments and effeciencies. My dream was to one day own a little farmhouse with a couple acres. Apparently that was not Gods will, however he did allow me to move to a rural area where the houses are spread further apart and the yards are big.

I’ve had apartments that were one room and two rooms, with small windows, no balconies or porches. Sometimes I would look out the windows and my view would be the brick wall of the building next door. I have lived in houses and apartments where the neighbors bedroom window wasn’t more than two feet away from mine.

I’ve lived in two story houses and one floor houses with no front yards, no porches and very little back yards. I’ve had nice apartments with dishwashers, huge picture windows and all the amenities you could ask for, but still no way to enjoy the outdoors. I have lived in several mobile homes, some with decent sized yards, but I worked so many hours I seldom had time to enjoy them.

The house we are renting now has a good sized front porch and a nice sized deck in back. During the summer months I love to sit on the front porch in the morning with my first cup of coffee. Off and on throughout the day, I will walk out on the back deck and just enjoy the privacy of our huge back yard. I love to watch the birds landing on the feeder. Many of them have gotten so used to seeing me, they no longer fly away when I come out. Today I am thankful to live in a house with decent porches.

May 5, 2016

My mother’s family were not very close. I vaguely remember my grandparents at all. I only have two memories of being at their house and I have no memories of them ever visiting us. My dad’s family was much the same. I only remember meeting his parents one time.

When my mom got sick a year or two after my dad died and we were shipped off to foster homes, not one family member ever stepped forward to claim us. No one seemed interested in keeping the family together, no one offered to take care of us until my mother got better.

We all go down different paths in our lives, often separated by jobs, family obligations and distance. I lost touch with my sisters shortly after I turned 18 and graduated from High School. My older sister and her husband moved to Texas and my younger sister, half sister and half brother were moved to Mexico by my mom and step-dad. We wrote back and forth for awhile but eventually I lost their addresses, moved around a lot and totally lost contact with them

It wasn’t until 18 years later that I finally got in contact with my younger sister, and it was 33 years that I didn’t see or hear from my older sister. I very rarely heard from my half sister and half brother because Papa was always moving around with them.

Since we finally all got reconnected, we have made the very best effort to never lose touch again. Today I am thankful for the relationships and closeness I have with with my remaining two sisters and my brother.

May 6, 2016

My mother moved with my step-dad to Mexico three months after I graduated High School. I never saw my mother again. Six years later she died. My first husbands mother was an alcoholic. We very rarely talked because she was drunk all the time. I only knew Kens’ mom for two years before she passed away.

I felt cheated because I spent a good deal of my childhood in foster homes away from my mom and when we did get to come home, I only had five more years with her before she moved away. I met Rich’s mom eight years ago and she has truly been a mother to me in every way.

Today I am thankful for the woman I get to call mom

Leave a Reply

