Leave a comment

Peace, Mother’s Day, and He’s Coming Back

Jesus with children 2May 7, 2016

Far Away in the depths of my Spirit tonight, rolls a melody sweeter that psalm; In celestial strains it unceasingly falls; o’er my soul like and infinite calm

Chorus: Peace, Peace, wonderful Peace, coming down from the Father above! Sweep over my spirit forever I pray in fathomless billows of love.

What a treasure I have in this wonderful peace, buried deep in the heart of my soul, so secure that no power can mine it away while the years of eternity roll (Chorus)

I am resting tonight in this wonderful peace, resting sweetly in Jesus control: For I’m kept from all danger by night and by day, and his glory is flooding my soul (Chorus)

And I think when I rise to that city of peace, where the anchor of peace I shall see, that one strain of the song which the ransomed will sing in that heavenly kingdom will be “peace, peace wonderful peace, coming down from the father above, sweep over my spirit forever I pray in fathomless billows of love.

Ah, soul are you here without comfort or rest, marching down the rough pathway of time? Make Jesus your Friend ere the shadows grow dark; Oh accept this peace so sublime (Chorus)

Sometimes I will wake up in the morning with a song in my heart. It will run through my mind all day long, lifting my spirits or making me sad. Most of the melodies that come to mind are Church hymns that have touched my heart and soul during rough times. This one has been running through my mind for a couple days now. Today I am thankful for the peace Jesus gives me and for the Peace we will have when we come back to live with him on the “New Earth”.

May 8, 2016

Today was probably the worst “Mother’s Day” in my life. I didn’t get the usual phone call from my son telling me he loved me and wishing me a “Happy Mother’s Day. He passed away on March 14th, unexpectedly, and while I have mentioned this several times in other posts, you have to take into consideration that it was only a short time ago and I am a grieving mom.

Don’t get me wrong, I got a lot of wishes from friends and family, and all the kids that I helped raise or taught in Sunday School, and while I love them all and are thankful for the well wishes, it isn’t the same as having the child you carried for nine months calling you.

Mothers don’t get enough credit for the things they do. They bear the children, and in many homes most of the raising is done by them. Not only do they care for the little ones, feeding them, bathing them, clothing them, rocking them to sleep, but they also teach them by example and by word of mouth as they are growing up.

They are the ones who are mainly responsible for seeing that the kids learn all the basics of good moral habits. Don’t lie, don’t cheat, don’t kill, don’t hurt someone, be kind, listen to your elders, and so. Even if it is not a Christian family, what they teach them still falls in line with the “Ten Commandments.”

In most households, the mother does the majority of the household chores, even if she is working a full time job. The laundry has to be done, the house cleaned, the meals cooked. Homework has to be looked at, some children have to be taken to school or day care, and then there are the sports and after school activities.

Mother’s Day is a day set aside to honor our mothers. It is the day that we recognize all they do/have done for us, all the sacrifices they made, all the sleepless nights, and all the hard times they have seen us through. My mom passed away when I was 23, suddenly but I still talk to her, and I still tell her Happy Mothers Day in Heaven.

Happy Mothers Day to all the moms out there, future, present and past. Today I am thankful that God allowed me to be a mother to my son for 44 years.

May 9, 2016

We live in a crazy world. It is so full of violence, debauchery and immorality. I read the news each morning on the Internet and it doesn’t surprise me that there is so much that is horrible. Rapes, murders, terrorist attacks, abortions, abandoned children, abused children, robberies, beatings, blue collar crimes and arrests of government officials. Hunger, poverty, crime, war, it is much the same everyday.

Everywhere you go, everything you do, you have to always be on the alert. People are abducted from store parking lots, people are assaulted in public places, bombs go off in crowed areas, children disappear on a daily basis, people are found murdered in their homes, people are robbed and assaulted on the streets. You have to pay attention to where you park, looking from side to side and forward and backward as you walk from your car into a store.

It is no wonder that everyone is always stressed. You take your life in your hands every time you walk out the door. No one and no place is completely safe. Not our homes, our work places, our schools or our hospitals. The people of this earth have gone completely mad.

There is always something to argue about everyday. Should bathrooms be co-ed, should there be gay marriage allowed, should abortions continue, should we go to war, and should we close our borders are just a few of the subjects that are argued about on a daily basis.

Revelations40:4 Then I saw thrones, and seated on them were those to whom the authority to judge was committed. Also I saw the souls of those who had been beheaded for the testimony of Jesus and for the word of God, and those who had not worshiped the beast or its image and had not received its mark on their foreheads or their hands. They came to life and reigned with Christ for a thousand years.

Matthew 24: 27 For as the lightning comes from the east and shines as far as the west, so will be the coming of the Son of Man.

Today I am thankful that some day Jesus is coming back

Leave a Reply

