Leave a comment

Good Days,Giving it to God and Tests

Hands holding the worldMay, 23, 2016

I am amazed at how busy I am as a retired person. It seems like there is something almost everyday that I have to run out and do. Visits to the hospital, doctors appointments, refills on groceries, gas in the car, paying bills and sometimes doing something I want like thrifting seems to take up the hours of my day.

There are some days when I get home and just ache all over, usually compounded by a migraine so I am usually pretty cranky too. Since I like my house clean, I have to rush around straightening things out, cleaning up dishes and maybe throwing in a load of laundry. I don’t call those good days.

But, some days everything just runs smooth, everything falls into place just like I want it too and my stress level stays a whole lot lower. Those days, when I accomplish everything I need to in a timely fashion without any interference I refer to as my good days.

Today I am thankful for good days

May 24, 2016

My mother used to say that I was so strong willed that there was nothing I couldn’t do if I put my mind to it. Some people call it stubbornness but I like to call it perseverance. Because of this trait I have often found myself struggling to do something that is just impossible for anyone to do.

I thought by example, by preaching, by pushing I could get the people I cared about saved, I could get them on the right track to living the way they should. I felt like it was my responsibility to see that this happened, therefore I was really upset with myself when I found out that I couldn’t save anyone, not that I really thought I could save them as only Jesus does that, but if I could get them to listen they would be saved.

I’ve heard many people preach about giving it to God, but so many of us are not good at that. When you give something to him, you are supposed to wait on him, but we tend to get impatient and take back what we gave him.

Over the years I have learned that if I want him to do something in my life or a loved ones life, then I have to be willing to totally give it to him and wait on him to act. Today I am thankful that he has been teaching me how to be willing to completely give something over to him.

May 25, 2016

Yes, we are tested by God. He allows things to happen that are unpleasant, down right bad and sometimes even dangerous. He allows us to reap what we sow in the mistakes and errors we make in our life. Once we understand this, then we learn from our mistakes and strive not to make the same ones over and over again.

Sometimes bad things will happen without them being the result of something we did. The loss of a job, the death of a loved one, the loss of a home through a natural disaster or injury caused by an accident happen everyday and most times are not our fault.

God didn’t say life would be perfect on earth. He did say he would bless us and provide for us as long as we served only him, as long as we lived by his commandments and as long as we shared his love with everyone.

He will test our faith from time to time, and sorry to say that I have seen several people turn from him when they have been tested. They have called him a mean God, uncaring, vengeful, and hurtful because they didn’t understand the test, and they failed.

Today I am thankful for every test he has put me through because my faith has been increased with each one, I have passed each one and I have learned from each one.

Leave a Reply

