Leave a comment

153 Days of Thankfulness

June 1, 2016

June 1910 Calendar

June 1910 matches exactly with June 2016

Today is a very special day, to me at least. It is the first day of June 2016, it is the 153rd day since I started y 366 days of thanksgiving. At the end of this month, I will have posted something to be thankful for, for exactly ½ year and I intend to keep going.

It all started back in January. For the last several years on Facebook I have watched many people do the days of thankfulness starting the first of November up until Thanksgiving Day. Each day they would post something to be thankful for. I figured if we could think of something to be thankful for during the month of November, for 21+ days, then why couldn’t we do it for a whole year, and of course, I picked leap year so there is an extra day in there.

I posted a challenge on Facebook and on my blog site More of Positive Mornings  inviting others to join. I was disappointed that no one thought it was important to find something to be thankful for every day of the year, but I decided I was going to go ahead and do it.

So, for the last five months I have posted something to be thankful for each day. I may have only been able to post every couple days, but I listed each day what I was thankful for. Even when my son passed away in March, even through trying times with other members of the family over his passing, even with illness, migraine days, trips to the hospital, trips to the ER, I still found something to be thankful for.

We serve a mighty God, a god that can do anything, a God that loves us, takes care of us, a God who allowed his only son to die a horrible death so we could be forgiven of our sins. That in itself is worth more thanks and praise than anything else in our lives.

So it is onward and upward until the end of the year, and then I may put them all in a book and publish them, quite haven’t made up my mind on that yet. Today I am thankful that God is opening my eyes to all that he truly does bless us with, big and small. Today I am thankful that he has given me the will power and a way to keep posting my days of Thanksgiving.

What a Mighty God we serve, What a Mighty God we serve, Angels bow before him, Heaven and Earth adore him, What a Mighty God we serve.

Leave a Reply

