Leave a comment

A Silent World, Taking Care of Me, A Connection With Nature

missouri river

Missouri river

June 2, 2016 – A Silent World

Can you imagine waking up one morning not being able to hear or speak? What if everyone, the whole world woke up one day and those senses and abilities had disappeared? Not only would you have difficulty making your needs and wants known, you would have a problem with expressing your emotions. You would still get angry, hurt, love, be happy, be joyous, feel pain and sorrow, but you would only be able to sign, write or show the emotions on your face.

You could be walking down a street and not hear a car careening out of control, headed in your direction. Your child could fall and hurt themselves and couldn’t cry out for mom to come and help them. If your house caught on fire, the fire station wouldn’t be able to hear an alarm go off. If someone attacked you on the street you wouldn’t be able to yell for help. It could become a very dangerous world to live in, much more dangerous than it is now.

Think of all the good things you would miss; the music of nature, the chirping of birds, the cooing of the doves, the barking of the dogs, the meowing of the cats, the chatter of squirrels or the lowing of cows, just to mention a few, and yet there are many who live like this. Some are born deaf and dumb. Sometimes it is the result of an accident or disease, but they depend a lot on those who can hear and speak.

You wouldn’t be able to hear the voices of your family, friends or neighbors. Doctors would have difficulty and it would take longer to diagnose problems because they would have to sign or write back and forth to discuss the symptoms or what the patient is feeling.

Today I am thankful for the senses for communicating that the Lord endowed us with, especially being able to hear and talk.

garden plants 002

Monster Tomato Plant

June 3, 2016 – Taking Care of Me

Last year I bought three tomato plants that were on a stand outside the hardware store. They were small and spindly but I was sure I could nurse them back to health. I do container gardening only because I do not have the physical capability to plow, plant and weed a plot, nor do I have the funds to hire someone to do it for me. So, I planted them in containers, set them out on the back deck and attended to them daily.

The didn’t grow much, just a little bit before the weather got to cold, so I brought them in to see if I could nurse them through the winter. Two of them died off but when kept on trying. I had it in a sunny window with a plant light to be turned on when the sun went down. It grew up and up but never out. It got to be about four foot high, so I did some research and found out I needed to trim it back. I started a few other plants from cuttings, but only one survived.

When spring came, I took the mother plant and the cutting that survived out on the deck. The mother plant is still spindly, but is finally starting to grow out a little, the cutting has turned into a monster tomato plant. The other day I went out to find my monster plant looking droopy and dead. I was heart broken because I had worked so hard over the winter to keep it alive. I watered it, I spent about half an hour talking to it, lifting its wilted leaves, telling it needed to fight, it needed to send water up to those top most shoots, and then I prayed for it.

The monster plant is back. I had thought there was a part that I would have to amputate because it just didn’t seem to get any nourishment and remained droopy, looked like it was drying up, so I talked to it a little more, explaining it just had a little more ways to go. Lo and behold, when I went out today, all of it has been restored back to health.

For centuries farmers have prayed over their crops, going all the way back to biblical times. There were even celebrations at harvest time, giving thanks for a good crop that would provide plenty of food for the winter, some of which are still held in various countries and churches.

Today, while standing on the deck talking to my plants, I was reminded about this passage in Matthew 7:28 -33 Look at the birds of the air, for they neither sow nor reap nor gather into barns; yet your heavenly Father feeds them. Are you not of more value than they. Which of you can add one cubit to his stature. So why do you worry about clothing? Consider the lilies of the field, how they grow: they nether toil nor spin. And yet I say to you that even Solomon in all his glory was not arrayed like one of these. Now if God so clothes the grass which today is and tomorrow is thrown into the oven, will he not much more cloth you, O you of little faith. Therefore do not worry saying “what shall we eat” or “what shall we drink?” or “what shall we wear?” For after all these things the Gentiles seek. For your heavenly father knows that you need all these things. But seek first the kingdom of God and his righteousness and all these things shall be added to you.

Today I am thankful for the way God takes care of all my needs, and thankful for the times he reminds me of this.

Doves 001

Dove on Garage Roof

June 4, 2016 – A Connection with Nature

Even as I child I was drawn to nature. I’ve always felt I had a connection with it. I loved being outdoors, not in the city, but on a farm or at a park or just driving around. I always found peace in nature. I could lay for hours on a grassy hill and watch the clouds as they floated by, or watch the birds chattering away in the trees near me. I would sit very quietly watching rabbits eating, squirrels digging for their hidden treasures, or a raccoon or possum walking through the brush, unaware that I was near because I wouldn’t move a muscle.

I used to love walking through the woods, looking at the different flowers, trees, shrubs, mushrooms and vines growing across my path. I would love to just stand till for a few minutes and take in the aroma of the plants wind the breeze would gently blow.

Because I wanted to be closer to nature, because I so disliked living in the concrete jungles, I moved this small town in Missouri. I felt like I was being pulled to come here when I came to visit my sister, and within four months I was on my way, following that strong urge to be here. I have never regretted this move, nor shall I ever move back to another large city, ever.

Our back yard is pretty good sized, and during the summer, the seven trees in the back neighbors yard turn it into a veritable forest. We have rabbits, possums, doves, robins, starlings, sparrows, blue jays, cardinals and many other variety of birds there.

In the morning I will stand quietly at the kitchen window and watch them at the bird feeder. Over time, I have quietly opened the screen door and stepped out. Now many of them land and eat, even if I am standing there. They have come to know that I will not harm them. Even the baby bunny who comes out feed in the early evening, doesn’t budge an inch when I open the door and step out.

Just a little while ago, I decided to sit on the front porch for a change. We have a bird feeder there also, but they haven’t gotten brave enough to get that close yet as it sits only a few feet away from my chair. While I was sitting there, three of the doves came flying down the driveway from the back yard and landed in the tree, sitting on a branch, looking at me, as if to say, “why are you here instead of out back watching over us”, haha.

Today I am thankful that the Lord has given me such a wonderful connection with nature.

Leave a Reply

