Leave a comment

The Tongue

loveJune 5, 2016

Pastor Salem did a sermon today on the tongue, how it can be used to destroy a person, how it can be used to uplift a person, and more importantly how it should be used to edify and glorify and share Jesus.

It got me thinking back to younger days, before I knew Christ. I was told that I could make a trucker blush. (not meant to bash truckers but back when I was in my 20’s they had a reputation for being boisterous, loud, mean and vulgar). Yes, as a young adult I had a very bad mouth, simply because the crowd I ran around with thought it was cool and I wanted to be cool too!

As I got older I realized just how horrible I sounded, and when I quit hanging around the people who encouraged my vulgar tongue, I lost the desire to sound that way. The human tongue doesn’t have to swear to tear someone down. All they have to do is belittle them, insult them, yell at them, or tell them just how worthless they are.

The tongue can also tear down people by way of rumors. I have been the subject of many rumors in my life and I can tell you firsthand how hurtful they can be. The tongue can also express anger and displeasure by arguing. Sadly, almost all couples have disagreements from time to time and many do not realize the damage they do when they argue and yell at each other in front of their children, friends, family or in public.

When Ken and I were attending a church in Tampa, Florida, we wanted to get involved in the homeless program they had. We were told to wait until close to end of the sermon and then come up to help serve the homeless a meal. While we were leaving, the pastor of the church got on the microphone, and just as we got to the door he said “if you leave while God is moving, don’t come back to this church”. Of course we were very hurt by it when we found out from one of the women upstairs later that it was aimed at us.

At another church, when a new pastoral couple took over, they wanted to collect money to put mosaic tile in the foyer. The members of this church had been through the mill with another pastor who put the church deep in debt by borrowing money to fix the church, but also borrowed enough to buy himself a house and renovate it, and then he left the church and they were still trying to pay this debt off.

Many of the older members, who had been there for awhile were upset about it and asked Ken what he thought. A few days later, the pastor told Ken that he heard that he was against him. This really hurt Ken because he was the only one who gave up every free moment he had to the church. He was there everyday making and taking calls, making sure the church was clean, running the food bank, and anything else he could do.

So you can see how the human tongue can hurt people, even from a distance, not always to the persons face. Today I am thankful that the Lord has shown me over the years just how hurtful we can be when we speak and has helped me to curb my own tongue.

1 Peter 3:10 – For he that will love life, and see good days, let him refrain his tongue from evil, and his lips that they speak no guile:

Matthew 12:36-37 – But I say unto you, That every idle word that men shall speak, they shall give account thereof in the day of judgment

Psalms 19:14 – Let the words of my mouth, and the meditation of my heart, be acceptable in thy sight, O LORD, my strength, and my redeemer.

Leave a Reply

