Leave a comment

This Too Shall Pass and Small Gifts from God

lakeJune 6, 2016 – This Too Shall Pass

I’m sure you have heard it said many times in your life, I know I have, “This too shall pass”. It has been quoted by Christians over and over again for centuries and many say it is in the bible, however there is no verse that has those words in it. There are verses that tell us our troubles are only temporary, such as

2 Corinthians 4: 17-18For our light affliction, which is but for a moment, worketh for us a far more exceeding and eternal weight of glory;  While we look not at the things which are seen, but at the things which are not seen: for the things which are seen are temporal; but the things which are not seen are eternal.

All through the bible there a verses that uplift us, that tell us we will go through the valley but that our God will be with us and show us the path to the mountain. I’ve been in that valley. I’ve gone through it several times in my life, and in truth, before I knew Jesus, there times I thought I would never get to the other side let alone up to the summit of the mountain.

As I look back over my life, I can truly say that the Lord was always with me in that valley, he was there walking beside me, holding my hand, but I never realized until I knew him personally. If you are going through that valley today, if you know Jesus, then you are assured that it is temporary and you will reach that mountain. If you are going through that valley today, and you don’t know him, find him, friend him so to speak for he is the only guide that can show you the way out.

Today I am thankful to know that no matter what I go through “this too shall pass.”

John 16:20 “Truly, truly I say to you, that you will weep and lament, but the world will rejoice; you will grieve but your grief will be turned to joy.

1 Peter 5:10 After you have suffered for a little while, the God of all grace, who called you to His eternal glory in Christ, will Himself perfect , confirm, strengthen, and establish you.

GEDSC DIGITAL CAMERA

The view off the back deck

June 6, 2016 – Small Gifts

I’ve mentioned before how much I love nature, how I have felt since I was small that I had a strong connection to it. I was never happy living in large cities. Cleveland was so depressing, and even though Florida had wonderful weather most of the year, you still had to drive a ways to find a place that was truly nature. Their beaches are beautiful but built up so much to attract tourists that if you go to any of the main ones like Clearwater, St. Petersburg or Indian Rocks, you will find no peace.

Looking out our back door there are seven or eight trees in the back neighbors yard. These all border the fence line and when they are fully leaved, they almost completely block out the neighbors house and yard. In these trees are the multitude of birds that come to our feeder; starlings, cardinals, doves, blue-jays and a variety of sparrows.

There are also a couple of possums that roam around from time to time, four or five squirrels and a baby rabbit. It is like having our own little forest and meadow area. I love to stand out there in the morning, watching everything fluttering around, moving up and down, in and out of these trees. I find peace in nature, I always have.

Since I have been feeding the birds back there, they seem to be getting used to me. In the last couple days two blue jays landed on the fence a few feet from me, a baby dove stayed on the deck while I filled the feeder and the male cardinal landed in the Formosa tree next to the deck. They seem to be getting more and more used to me. I think they have finally realized that I won’t hurt them and maybe eventually they will come closer. I consider all of these things as some of the small gifts of God that he sends each day my way.

Today I am thankful for the small gifts from God

James 1:17 – Every good gift and every perfect gift is from above, and cometh down from the Father of lights, with whom is no variableness, neither shadow of turning

Leave a Reply

