Leave a comment

Something Positive, Massacre and Healing

older woman prayingJune 11, 2016

I could tell you a lengthy sob story about my previous life. I could get into horrible details that would make you cringe, but the sad fact is that many women have gone through what I went through, many women today are going through the same things. But I am not getting into details about that right now, after all, the title of this blog is “More of Positive Mornings.”

The reason I named it that is because I wanted to share as many “Positive” things with people that I could. Even though there have been some articles that haven’t been completely on the positive side, I write about things that I feel are important.

In December of 1992, a little girl invited me to come to church with her to see the children’s Christmas Program. In January 1993 I started attending that church, and in February of that same year, I went to the alter and unloaded all my misery and pain on the Lord and took him as my savior.

From that day forward, when God started working in my life, things changed rapidly. I’m not claiming that he made rich or famous, no, it was all spiritual, it was a healing process on my heart and soul. Today when I look back, I can see how just how far he has brought me and many of the lessons he has taught me.

One of those lessons was to look for something positive in each day and in each circumstance, and for the most part I am able to do that. Sure, there are days when my afflictions cause me distress and discomfort, but somehow or another I am able to look for those positive things that can turn my day around.

It might be as simple as watching the birds feeding or in the bird bath on the back deck, or an uplifting message on Facebook from a friend or relative. It might be just the knowledge that someone is praying for me or knowing that people care about me.

Today I am thankful that the Lord has taught me to always look for something positive in every day.

Philippians 4:8
And now, dear brothers and sisters, one final thing. Fix your thoughts on what is true, and honorable, and right, and pure, and lovely, and admirable. Think about things that are excellent and worthy of praise.

ER -articlesJune 12, 2016

My heart is breaking for the victims and families in Orlando. How could one person inflict so much brutality and pain. I think about all the families that have been torn apart by this event and wish that I could hug each and everyone of them, pray with them, assure them they will get through this.

We live in hard times and it is nothing new. Violence has been rampant the whole world over for many, many decades. My family has had it’s share of violence. My little sister, Francie was brutally murdered back in the 80’s. She was strangled and stabbed to death in her apartment and her killer has never been found. My son was shot in the early 90’s and literally died, but thanks to the great doctors at St. Vincent Charity Hospital in Cleveland, he was only gone for a very short time, they were able to bring him back. His shooter walked away with a drug charge and slap on the wrist.

I think about the fear this has caused the whole country, the fear that a terrorist group is gaining ground in our country and the fear that it will accelerate and the ever present fear that we cannot be protected. Many cities and counties are pushing for the residents to get their CCW’s and purchase weapons to defend themselves with, but there are so many who just are not in a position to do that. A lot of Americans don’t feel that they can depend on their own country, their own militia, their own government to protect them anymore.

What we are experiencing is nothing compared to what is going on in the middle east. Whole villages and cities are being taken over and people are being executed or forced into a form of slavery. Young girls and women are being raped and forced into sexual slavery while old men, women and children are being shot down. The groups over there are finding more extreme ways of execution and torture. Their main goal is to instill fear into the whole world.

Today I am thankful that God has protected me and most of my family. In my younger years I may have been in a place that could have been chosen for a massacre such as this.

2 Thessalonians 3:3 But the Lord is faithful. He will establish you and guard you against the evil one.

1 John 5:19 We know that we are from God, and the whole world lies in the power of the evil one.


Jesus with children 2June 13, 2016

We have advanced very rapidly in the field of medical research. Sadly, many doctors prescribe medications that only treat the symptoms without finding out the real reasons for our afflictions. There are always ongoing studies of diseases and illnesses already know to man and every year there are more and more strange diseases, bacteria and virus appearing.

We will never be able to heal every disease and sometimes the best we can hope for is be made more comfortable while dealing with one. Pain medications have become the big “go-to” drug to help an individual deal with an illness and sadly many people become addicted to these drugs.

It is such a shame that the human race has forgotten who the original healer is. They have turned to leaning on their own understanding, trying to play “God” in many circumstances, trying to find the medicines and treatments on their own without asking for his help or permission.

I do believe that some “miracle” drugs only exist because God allowed man to find them, yet he still doesn’t get the credit for any of it.

Today I am thankful that I truly know who my healer is.

1 Peter 2:24 He himself bore our sins in his body on the tree, that we might die to sin and live to righteousness. By his wounds you have been healed.

James 5:15 And the prayer of faith will save the one who is sick, and the Lord will raise him up. And if he has committed sins, he will be forgiven

Leave a Reply

