Leave a comment

Rapture, fire and Rain, and Limitations

Christ of the Ozarks

Christ of the Ozarks, Eureka Springs, Arkansas

June 23, 2016 Rapture

Most Charismatic Christian churches believe in a pre-tribulation rapture. Others believe the rapture will happen just before Armageddon while a third group believe that the rapture will happen half way through the tribulation. There are many bible references made for each one of these beliefs, however none are written in stone. It is all in the interpretation of the denomination and it’s members.

The tribulation (the first 3 ½ years) and the great Tribulation (the 2nd half of the 7 years) are spelled out in detail in Revelations. Some people believe that we are in the pretribulation times and some others have tried to convince us that we are already in the early part of the tribulation. The sad fact is that no one is completely correct.

There are a lot of verses that could apply to each circumstance depending on how they are read and interpreted. The fact still remains that we do not know for a certainty when the rapture will take place or when the tribulation begins and ends.

I was saved in a Pentecostal Church and they believe in the pre-trib rapture. I would like to positively believe this is true because I wouldn’t want to go through the tribulation, times are hard enough now as it is.

What you have to do is ask yourself a question. “ does my belief in when the rapture and tribulation will be happen have any effect on my relationships with Christ?” no, it does not. If you are saved and have accepted Christ as your savior, then it doesn’t matter whether you believe in a pre-trib rapture, a mid-trib rapture or a post trib-rapture.

Today I am thankful that no matter when the rapture and tribulation happen, I am still a Christian and know with a certainty that one day I will be with Christ.

Mark 13:32 – But of that day and [that] hour knoweth no man, no, not the angels which are in heaven, neither the Son, but the Father.

Daniel 12:1 – And at that time shall Michael stand up, the great prince which standeth for the children of thy people: and there shall be a time of trouble, such as never was since there was a nation [even] to that same time: and at that time thy people shall be delivered, every one that shall be found written in the book.

lighteningJune 24, 2016 – Fire and Rain

Our world has changed drastically over the last few centuries. Our progressive technology in the usage of microwaves, radiation, air travel and space exploration have greatly depleted the protective covering around this planet along with all the pollution we constantly expel into the atmosphere.

Scientists believe that all of these elements, together, damaging that atmosphere, are responsible for all the seasonal and weather changes we see each year. For example, when I moved to Butler in the Spring of 2007, it was a normal Spring, and my first Winter here was a normal, cold and snowy Winter. Since then I have watched the seasons change. The last two years we have gotten mostly rain and very little snow.

Some states like Arizona, California, Mexico and Texas have been suffering with terrible droughts for several years. Other areas are plagued with severe rain and thunderstorms, floods, hurricanes and tornadoes. Each season and each year seem completely different than the one before. This is especially hard on farmers who used to be able to rely on a certain standard for each season. Now many are losing crops and never know when to plant or when to harvest.

Presently California is burning from wildfires which could be cause by a careless match or just too much dry heat in certain areas, that are uncontrollable because of the dry circumstances and the lack of suitable amounts of water to fight the flames. West Virginia is suffering from severe flooding, with many homes and lives lost and small towns completely under water. My prayers go out to these people and all the others around the world that have suffered at the hands of a messed up “Mother Nature”.

Today I am thankful to live where I do, where the weather is constantly changing, but we haven’t had any of these severe storms to threaten our lives.

bucket of flowersJune 25, 2016 – Limitations

For many years I was the “go-to” person for many people. I helped raise children that weren’t’ mine, I’ve helped relatives and friends in dire straights, even opening my home up to a few of them. I have tried to help others straighten out their lives and have run my “hind-end” off for many different people for many different reasons.

In a way I was an enabler, allowing people to use me instead of standing on their own two feet, but it didn’t make much difference because I felt good when I thought I was helping someone. Several years ago I realized that I could no longer be that “go-to” person for anyone. Age and increasing medical problems have slowed me way down.

There are those who would want me to be that “go-to” person who have not realized that I am incapable of playing that role anymore. Oh, believe me, if I could take care of every homeless person, every little child and every puppy dog in this world, I would do it in a heartbeat, but I am an aging person who now has to see to her own problems and health.

Today I am thankful that the Lord has shown me my own limitations, and given me the wisdom to understand that part of my life is over and I have entered a different level in my life.

Leave a Reply

