Leave a comment

Limits, Common Sense and Feet

turtle speed limitJune 30, 2016 – Limits

I know that I am really behind, but I have excuses. Even if I don’t get the thankful articles up every day, or every three days as seems to be the rule of thumb lately, I do write them down on the pad next to my computer.

I suffer from a whole list of problems that sometimes slows me down. PTSD, Depression, arthritis, plantar faciitis, and chronic migraines are the major ones I deal with. I’m used to pain. It has been a part of my life ever since I was around 19, some of it inflicted by others, and some of it by accident. As I have gotten older, my body has developed other painful maladies.

Don’t get me wrong, this is not a “woe is me” article, I’m just giving you a little bit of background. There was a time in my life where I would have complained about every little pain I have and there was a time in my life where I wasn’t allowed to utter one complaint.

I’ve had some people say that I handle pain better than most people they know. One person even said that I handled it gracefully?? I’m not quite sure what they meant by that, but like anything else that is a constant in your life, you learn to accept it and deal with it.

Because of these painful times, there are days where I don’t function as well as I would like. I call them “Down” days. These are the days that you won’t see articles posted because it is all I can do to make it through the day. I’m not complaining, because I know there are so many out there that suffer from much worse pain than I do.

Today I am thankful that God has given me the ability to know my limits on days like this.

common senseJuly 1, 2016 – Common Sense

Wikipedia describes common sense as the basic ability to perceive, understand and judge things, which is shared (common to) nearly all people and can reasonably be expected of nearly all people without any need for debate.

I remember my mom telling me many times to use common sense. Sometimes she would tell me that I didn’t use the common sense I was born with. Reading this description makes common sense sound almost equivalent to instincts. Animals are born with certain instincts and they never debate or fight each other over it so it could be equivalent to their form of common sense.

It is believed that we are all born with a sense of right and wrong, a sense of good and evil and as we grow older we decide which we will use, which we will follow. Often times, in our hurry to do things we forget about the common sense part of our lives. We forget about these instincts that guide us through our daily lives.

Today I am thankful that the Lord has shown me how to slow down and use the common sense I was born with.

Legs in SPA

July 2, 2016 – Feet

I have never really given much thought to the many things my feet have to go through. I have never imagined what it would be like not to have them, not to be able to walk on them until recently. In the last few months I have developed gout. Usually an attack shows up in the morning but by the next day it is gone. Recently I had an attack in both feet that went all the way through the arches and made it very difficult to walk. The doctor gave me a prescription for something that would help with my uric acid levels, the main cause of gout, but I had a bad reaction to it.

I have been using the apple cider vinegar treatment and I really thought that it was working well, until I had another attack in my left foot, this time the foot swelling up so much that it was extremely hard to walk.

I have been doing some research and doing some diet changes and still using the apple cider vinegar each day, and even though I do have some attacks, they don’t seem to be as severe as these two. I will never take my feet for granted again.

Today I am thankful for my feet, thankful for the days that they work well.

Leave a Reply

