Leave a comment

Positive Conversations, Handling Pain, and Peace in My Soul

crossAugust 18, 2016 – Positive Conversations

We have conversations with many different people. Sometimes we might speak with several individuals during our day. Family and friends are always top priority on our conversation lists, but we may also have to interact with co-worker, professionals, store clerks, doctors, police officers and more as our day goes on.

Some of these conversations are face to face, some by e-mail, others by phone and many are through social media. Negative conversations, no matter how they are sent and received can put a damper on our day or evening, causing us stress that we really don’t need because our lives are already stressful enough.

But a positive conversation has they entirely opposite effect. It can set the tone for our whole day, even spilling over into the next day, depending on what the conversation was about and what it might have brought to mind.

We can choose how conversations affect us daily. If we have a a conversation with negative overtones, we can choose to let it make us miserable all day, or put it on the back burner and go forth looking for the positive in the rest of the day.

We all have that one friend or relative that tends to be negative most of the time. I have one and although I love this person with all of my heart, when it is time to call in and check on them, I have to take a moment to steel myself against the torrent of negativity that many times takes over their conversation.

So I made the call, expecting the worse but praying for the best, and this time the individual had a totally different outlook on their day and on their life. The conversation was beneficial to us both in that we had a few laughs, didn’t argue about anything and hung up feeling more cheerful than when we started.

Today I am thankful for uplifting and positive conversations.

anger faceAugust 19, 2016 – Handling Pain

I’ve been battling pain most of my life. Some of it has been medical and some of it was inflicted on me, and a lot of it has been emotional. As I get older and my body is starting to wear out there is more physical pain.

I’ve suffered from chronic migraines and arthritis for years. I’ve had problems with my wrists, shoulders, back, knees ankles and toes at different times, only to be told that it’s “Arthur” simply moving around my body.

A few months ago I started having gout attacks in my feet. First it was the right foot, then it was the left. The doctor put me on a prescription which I had a reaction to, so I did some research and found some homeopathic remedies which seemed, at first to help.

Recently, about a month ago, I had what I thought was a severe gout attack on my left food. The swelling finally went down but I have remained in pain since then. On the days that I can take it easy around the house and not put too much pressure on it, it isn’t too bad, but on the days that I have to be out running around, by the end of the day I can hardly walk.

I went to the orthopedic doctor and he diagnosed as “turf toe” and upped my anti-inflammatory medicines. He told me to baby it for another week or so, but I should see improvement withing a few days. I see him again in 4 weeks.

It doesn’t seem to have changed much. If I walk real slow, watch everywhere I step, there is less aggravation, but who can watch every step they take? I have turned wrong a few times and that makes it burn and I have stepped on one of the strips between doorways and that also ignites the pain. There just doesn’t seem to be a happy medium with this thing.

Today, while I was rubbing my foot, God reminded me of the pain and suffering that his son went through. The whipping and scourging, the nails in his hands and feet, and the heartbreak over the condition of his children, when you think about it, is overwhelming.

If Jesus could go through all of that to give us forgiveness of our sins, then what I have gone through and what I go through are nothing in comparison to what he went through. I can’t even imagine the pain that God went through, sending his son down here to be so horribly crucified and I can’t imagine the pain Jesus went through when they nailed him to the cross. Knowing this, I can handle this pain.

Today I am thankful that God has shown me just how minimal my pain is in comparison.

lakeAugust 20, 2016 – Peace in my Soul

My older sister once told me that she wasn’t afraid of dying, but she was afraid of getting old. I don’t know if I have ever been afraid of dying, but I have thought about how I might die and I was afraid of that. I was afraid of a lot of things in my early life.

I was afraid I wouldn’t be accepted by certain groups of people. I was afraid I wouldn’t stand up to the expectations of others. I was afraid I wouldn’t be able to take care of myself and my son. I was afraid of a man for almost 20 years who had gotten complete control of my life, and I was afraid of what would happen to my son if this man succeeded some day in killing me.

When I accepted Jesus as my savior when I was in fourth grade, I wasn’t given any guidance on what that really meant, so it was easy to forget about him when I was transferred to non-christian foster homes. When I was in my early teens, I attended a catholic church with a friend of mine, but when the priest couldn’t explain properly to me why we had to pray to the saints and the virgin I left.

As life went on, I made many mistakes and I had many worries. When I look back on it all I see the steps Jesus took and the levels I went through to get to where I am today. I don’t worry like I used to and I am not afraid like I used to be.

Today I am thankful for the Peace he has given me in my soul.

Leave a Reply

