Leave a comment

Cooler Weather, Courage, and Resilience

the four seasonsAugust 24, 2016 – Cooler Weather

Here it is, just near the end of August and already leaves are falling from the trees. This has been a really weird summer. I don’t remember last summer being as odd as this one. We had about one week of Spring and then went right into the 90’s with heat indexes in the 100’s.

It seemed like it would rain consistently for 3-4 days and then the temperatures would pop back up overnight and the humidity was so thick you could cut it with a butter knife. Last summer we barely used the air conditioner, but this summer we had to use it almost every day.

The seasons are not predictable anymore. I can remember, when I was a child, you could almost set your clock to what the weather would do. Spring was Spring, Summer was Summer, Autumn was normal and Winter was cold.

They blame the weather changes , all the extreme weather we are having more of each year on Global Warming. The earth is getting hotter because our protective shield, the atmosphere, is getting thinner. It is due to all the damage, we, the human race have inflicted on like piercing it thousands of times to send out our satellites and ships, by dumping fuel into it from our planes and jets, and by sending up pollution from our factories and plants.

The temperatures are already dropping into the 80’s during the day and high 60’s at night, an occurrence that usually doesn’t take place until mid or late September and the yards are showing that Fall seems to be coming in sooner. It hasn’t been a pleasant Summer and today I am thankful for the cooler weather.

Daniel 2:21 – And he changeth the times and the seasons: he removeth kings, and setteth up kings: he giveth wisdom unto the wise, and knowledge to them that know understanding:

bibleAugust 25, 2016 – Courage

Wikipedia describes courage in this way. Courage (also called bravery, bravado or valor) is the choice and willingness to confront agony, pain, danger, uncertainty or intimidation Physical courage is courage in the face of physical pain, hardship, death or threat of death, while moral courage is the ability to act rightly in the face of popular opposition, shame scandal, discouragement, or personal loss. In some traditions, fortitude holds approximately the same meaning. In the Western tradition, notable thoughts on courage have come from philosophers, Socrates, Plato, Aristotle, Aquinas and Kierkegaard: in the Eastern tradition, some thoughts on courage were offered by the Tao Te Ching.

I have medical and physical problems, don’t we all? Several of them cause a lot of pain, which I have accepted and learned to deal with. I’ve been familiar with pain most of life and accepted the fact that I will have pain all of my life. I deal with it.

For the last six weeks I have been dealing with a new pain, one that slowed me down quite a bit, kept me from doing the basic chores I felt needed done around the house, kept me up at night, and actually sent me into another bout of depression.

I saw two doctors over this pain. My primary care said I had gout, but I had a reaction to the medicine he prescribed. He didn’t offer another solution, and the pain and swelling just got worse. The orthopedic doctor told me I had turf toe?? He didn’t add to my medication because he didn’t want me to take any more medication than I already do. He upped my anti inflammatory and told me to baby the foot for awhile.

It finally got so bad that I went to the ER to see what they could do, and they threw some more prescriptions at me, without doing any tests to see if something else was wrong. It is sad that many doctors don’t go the distance to find out what the patient needs, especially those that are on medicaid or medicare, and I understand that they are restricted on how far they can go when this is the kind of insurance you have to depend on.

But, I have had a lot of people praying for me, and I have tried to treat it as I do the other pain in my life. I’ve been working with some natural healing methods that don’t have all the side effects that all these chemicals have that they love to prescribe. Point of interest here, the two prescriptions they gave me at the ER nullify each other, so what’s the point in taking them?

The pain is getting lesser and most of the swelling has gone down and credit God for listening to my prayers and the others that have been praying for me and to the natural methods I have been researching and using. I truly believe that if we look long and hard enough, God has given us methods to heal ourselves without relying on the pharmaceutical companies who only care about making the almighty buck.

Today I am thankful that God has given me the courage to face whatever comes my way, whether it is medical, physical, spiritual or emotional.

Psalm 31:24Be of good courage, and he shall strengthen your heart, all ye that hope in the LORD.”

ER -articlesAugust 26, 2016 – Resilience

The Free Dictionary defines resilience as the ability to recover quickly from illness, change, or misfortune.

When I read this definition, I think about all the times in my life I have had to start over, many of them after literally losing everything I owned. Each time I managed to rebuild, sometimes slowly, other times quicker that I thought I would be able to.

From these experiences I have learned what is important and what isn’t. For example, we all need a roof over our heads, food to eat, a form of income and at least a determination to stay healthy. The basics are always the priority, especially in situations where children are involved, although children are often more resilient than adults. Adults get attached to materialistic living long before children do. The children of today have learned this from their parents and peers.

God has always given me the strengthen, willingness and resilience to bounce back from anything that happens. He is always there by my side, holding my hand, never letting me fall, no matter what the circumstances might be. He has shown me how to start over, how to rebuild, and what to prioritize in my life.

I have never been one who owned a lot of possessions, I have never felt the need to keep up with the “Jones’s”. Material wealth has never been a factor in my life, even during times when my income would have allowed it. Today I am thankful that God created me to be resilient.

Joshua 1:9 I repeat, be strong and brave! Don’t be afraid and don’t panic, for I, the LORD your God, am with you in all you do.”

Leave a Reply

