Leave a comment

Busy Days, Accomplishments, Children and Sisters

shoppingSeptember 2, 2016 – Busy Days

I used to dream about being retired. I would be able to take naps when I wanted, sleep in late in the morning, be lazy when I wanted and just wile away the hours doing what I pleased. Oh, how wrong I was. It seems that I am busier than ever. Doctors appointments, store runs, ER visits and the like seem to take up a lot of hours each week, and oh, then the first week of the month running around paying the bills is just crazy.

I’ve never been a lazy person. I have always worked and at most jobs I would work overtime when it was allowed, along with having the grand-kids on weekends, Church on Sunday, house cleaning and shopping on Saturday. There weren’t many free moments in my day.

When I stop and think about, busy days aren’t all that bad. They help me to get some exercise that I wouldn’t normally get, I get out and associate with other people, I get things done and it keeps my mind active. Today I am thankful for busy days.

Proverbs 20:13 Do not love sleep or you will become poor, Open your eyes and you will be satisfied with food..

awardSeptember 3, 2016 – Accomplishments

It seems to me today, that the upcoming generation doesn’t understand working for the things you want. I have heard teens complaining because their parents can’t or won’t get them the latest phones, computers, i Pads, i Pods and the like. I read an article not long ago where a survey was done among a vast amount of high school students getting ready to graduate. The majority didn’t think that they should have to work for a living.

I don’t know about anyone else in my age group, but I was taught from the beginning, if I wanted something and wanted it bad enough it was worth working for. My parents weren’t rich, but they were willing to help get certain items if I took the initiative to work for them. It might mean babysitting so they can have a night out, or doing extra chores. Then when I was old enough, I earned my own money by babysitting or cleaning someone’s house.

When I became an adult, I had to work, and when I had my son I had to work harder to insure that we had what we needed and some of what we wanted. Today I am disabled and cannot work, but I can still do some things around the house. Days that are good, when I can actually accomplish something make me feel good. It always feels better when I can do something on my own. Today I am thankful for those days when I can actually accomplish something.

Proverbs 19:21 Many are the plans in the mind of man, but it is the purpose of the Lord that will stand

Jesus with children 2September 4, 2016 – Children

There is a meme that circulates around Social Media that goes something like this “It doesn’t matter how big and bad you think you are, when a 3 year old gives you a toy phone, you answer it.” John says in chapter 16:21 that When a woman is giving birth, she has sorrow because her hour has come, but when she has delivered the baby, she no longer remembers the anguish, for joy that a human being has been born into the world.”, and many mothers will attest to this.

When my son was born, I didn’t remember the 34 hours I was in labor and I didn’t care how long it would take me to heal, all I cared about was this tiny little boy laying in my arms. When my grand kids were born and I held them for the first time, I can’t even describe the joy that I felt.

Children don’t come into this world filled with prejudice, selfishness, hatred, or evil thoughts. They are innocent and full of love. They don’t see skin color, hair color, eye color, scars, disabilities, overweight or too skinny, they see the heart.

Sadly, as they grow, it is the people around them, the parents, grandparents, older siblings, teachers and other adults in their life that teach them prejudices, hatred, and dishonesty. It is the people around them that surround them with all of these negative feelings.

Recently I had a chance to spend the day with a little 3 year old boy. At first he wouldn’t come near me but within ten minutes I was his best friend. We played on the couch while his parents talked to his grand father. He had me pole the pillows on top of him so he could hide, then we went through and talked about all the designs on those pillows. Later we took a trip through the house looking for a pirate.

How precious, how enjoyable it was to see the world through the eyes of a 3 year old. To see something interesting and new around every corner, to seek an adventure in just an adjoining room and hear his giggles and laughter. It lifted my spirits and made my heart swell. Most of my grand children are in their teens so when I get to spend time with a small child like this, I feel doubly blessed. Today I am thankful for all the children that have been in my life.

Matthew 18:3 I tell you the truth, unless you change and become like little children, you will never enter the kingdom of heaven.

sistersSeptember 5, 2016 – Sisters

My family was torn apart when we girls were just little children. My older sister was 9, I was 7 and my little sister was 2. My mother became very ill, a nervous breakdown and was hospitalized. We spent the next 6 years in Foster care.

After I graduated High School, my mother and step-father took my little sister, my half sister and my half brother and moved to Mexico. Several months later, my older sister and her husband moved to Texas. Once during the next 18 years, my younger sister came to visit but I didn’t see my older sister for 33 years.

Several years ago my older sister decided to come and visit. She was having problems at home and needed to get away for awhile. Soon afterward, she came to live with me. Eventually she went back to Arizona, but a few years later she moved back with me. It sounds a little like a broken record, because she eventually went back again, only to move to this little town when I did, and yes she is back in Arizona.

I now live only ten miles from my little sister and I keep in contact with my older sister. I can understand why she went back for two of her sons and all of her grand-kids live there. Sometimes there are bonds formed in families that are unbreakable, and I would have to say that is true for my sisters and myself. Of course we have had our squabbles, our differences and even though we didn’t have a lot of time together growing up, we have developed a super strong bond between the three of us and I love them with all of my heart. Today I am thankful for my sisters.

1 Corinthians 13:4-7 Love is patient, love is kind. It does not envy, it does not boast, it is not proud. It does not dishonor others, it is not self seeking, it is not easily angered, it keeps no record of wrongs. Love does not delight in evil but rejoices in truth. It always protects, always trusts, always hopes, always perseveres.

Leave a Reply

