Leave a comment

Natural Cures,Good Examples, and Humor

fruits and veggiesSeptember 10, 2016 – Natural Cures

Psalm 51:7Purge me with hyssop, and I shall be clean: wash me, and I shall be whiter than snow.

Isaiah 38:21For Isaiah had said, Let them take a lump of figs, and lay [it] for a plaster upon the boil, and he shall recover.

All through the bible we read different examples of the usage of herbs for medicine. We also read about dietary restrictions that the lord placed upon the children of Israel. They were to eat mostly organic food that was provided by the trees, bushes and plants that God created. They were also to abstain from certain meats and fish such as pork, catfish and eels, any kind of fish without scales. They were told not to eat animals like the Emu or Ostrich.

You don’t read much in the bible about diseases and illnesses unless it is a plague that God sends. For the most part, he knew which foods would be the best for the people to eat to keep them healthy. The worst diseases listed in the bible are Leprosy or a Plague of Boils. Today we ingest just about everything that grows, animal or plant life. We also have processed our foods to the point where many of them have no nutritional value or contain so many additives and preservatives that they actually harm our bodies.

I’ve been going the rounds with the doctors lately over my feet. One doctor says Gout while another doctor say Turf Toe. One doctor hands out prescriptions that I can’t take and another says lets not add anymore chemicals to your body.

I am a researcher. That is what I did for almost 12 years with one company and I still do a lot of research on my own. I researched the Gout and the Turf Toe and just Arthritis in General. Then I went on a hunt for natural foods and herbs that treat these problems.

The toe still hurts occasionally but the redness and swelling are gone, in fact almost all the swelling in the foot has dissipated except for a small area around the back inside of the left ankle. I’ve been drinking apple cider vinegar and water twice a day. I take a vitamin “C” supplement, “Black Cherry” extract and “Celery Seed extract. The upside to this is that there are no chemicals going into my body and there are no adverse side effects.

I’m getting older and my body is wearing down. I have arthritis in several different areas and I have accepted that I will have to deal with my ailments for the rest of my life, but today I am thankful that there are still natural cures, natural remedies that can be used to help with just about every ailment there is.

common senseSeptember 11, 2016 – Good Examples

John 3:15 For I have given you an example, that ye should do as I have done to you

Children learn mostly from their parents as they grow up. They take with them the attitudes, thinking and actions that they have seen in their parents. This becomes a part of who they are. Sadly there are so many parents that don’t understand this. They raise their children on the basis of “Do as I say, not as I do” and expect them to grow up under this rule.

If a parent is drinking, doing drugs or involved in other unsavory behavior, the child sees this and may grow up thinking “If mom or dad did it, then it is ok”. If children grow up in a home where the parents argue all the time or there is physical abuse, then they go out into life assuming this is the way that everyone lives.

Being an example to your children is important. Being an example to everyone around you is just as important. If you want them raised as a Christian with a good moral core, then show them a household full of love, respect, kindness and mercy, not hatred, dishonesty and disrespect. Teach them about Christ and act as much like him as you can, take them to church so they can learn more, so they can be influenced by other “good” Christians, and do this everywhere you go. Remember that they mimick what they say and here, but others may also do the same.

I’ve had many people in my life that set examples. Some bad, some very bad, and some really, really good ones. Today I am thankful for the ones who set a good example for me to follow and I pray that I can always be a good example to others by the way I live.

laughterSeptember 12, 2016 – Humor

Proverbs 17:22 A merry Heart doeth good like a medicine; but a broken spirit drieth the bones

There are so many myths that have been passed down through the ages about the number of muscles it takes to smile or frown. One such saying was published in the Encyclopedia of 7700 illustrations in 1979 claiming it took 72 muscles to frown but only 17 muscles to smile. While scientists have never actually tested this, it has been proven that laughter is healthy for you.

I love to laugh. Laughter makes my day so much brighter. Where would our world be today if we didn’t have humor in it. Of course there are some types of humor that I feel shouldn’t even be considered humor, such as the cartoons that come out about candidates during an election year., but good humor, the good, clean kind that triggers a good belly laugh can lift your spirits high on a doldrum day.

The following paragraph is from an article in the Huffington Post dated 1/ 14/ 2014 “An old Yiddish proverb says, “What soap is to the body, laughter is to the soul.” Everyone knows that laughter makes you feel good and puts you in high spirits, but did you also know that laughter actually causes physiological responses that protect the body from disease and help your vital organs repair themselves? A good laugh can be compared to a mild workout, as it exercises the muscles, gets the blood flowing, decreases blood pressure and stress hormones, improves sleep patterns and boosts the immune system. Furthermore, a study by the John Hopkins University Medical School showed that humor and laughter can also improve memory and mental performance. Yet despite the fact that laughter has so many benefits, far too many of us forget to even crack a smile every once in a while, let alone laugh”

Today I am thankful for the humor that makes us laugh.

Leave a Reply

