Leave a comment

Burdens, Kindness, and One Day at a Time

older woman prayingSeptember 16, 2016 – Burdens

Psalm 55:22 Give your burdens to the Lord, and he will take care of you. He will not permit the godly to slip and fall.

Everyone, in every walk of life, Rich, poor, famous, unknown, or infamous have problems. For each individual, his/her problems may seem insurmountable. The poor look at the rich and wonder, what kind of problems could they have, they have enough money to do or buy whatever they need, whatever they want. They don’t know what it is like to go hungry, to be homeless, to be forgotten.

While this may seem true to so many unfortunate people, if you ask someone who was poor and became rich, they would probably tell you they preferred being poor, life was much simpler. Everyone suffers from illness, and while the poor are trying to find their next meal, the next place they will lay their head, some of the rich are dealing with debilitating diseases or mental illness, or they are being hounded by so many business problems, they don’t know what to do with themselves.

The fact remains that we are all children of God and love us all the same. We are each uniquely made and just as uniquely precious to him. He hears all of our prayers, not just those of the poor and needy, but those of the rich and famous also. What might be a problem for you, might not be a problem for someone else, and what might be a problem to someone may mean nothing to you.

Jesus said he would take our burdens upon him. He said he would carry our load, but you have to believe first that he is the son of God, and secondly that he can forgive your sins. Then you have to believe that he is able and willing to do as he says. Today I am thankful that I can place my burdens on his shoulders.

Jesus 002

Drawing of Angels taking Jesus off the cross by Richard Carter

September 17, 2016 – Kindness

Colossians 3:12 Therefore, as God’s chosen people, holy and dearly loved, clothe yourselves with compassion, kindness, humility, gentleness and patience

There was a time in my life that I wasn’t very kind to people. I was in such a horrible situation, that the only way I believed I could survive was to be coldhearted. I didn’t have time to think about the problems or cares of others, all I could think about was the survival of my son and myself, and because of the oppressive person I was with, I believed being this way was necessary.

When God intervened and moved from that situation, he showed me who I really was. I was they type of person who wanted to help others, who really cared about those that were going through tough times and needed the kindness of someone. Don’t get me wrong, I am not patting myself on the back, I just came to realize, through the kindness of others, that I wasn’t meant to be an uncaring individual.

Sometimes just one act of kindness can make a persons day. They may be depressed, anxious, angry or hurting and just smiling at them, holding a door open for them, paying for their meal, or just starting a conversation with them could be the band-aid they needed for that day.

When I think about the kindness others have shown me over the years, I am totally amazed at how many giving and caring people there are. The world is a horrible place right now, filled with violence and hatred, but there are still many out there that truly care about their fellow man. Today I am thankful that the Lord is teaching me to always be kind and for the kindness of others around me.

turtle speed limitSeptember 18, 2016 – One Day at a Time

Matthew 6:34 – Therefore do not worry about tomorrow, for tomorrow will worry about itself. Each day has enough trouble of its own.

Things were so much simpler when I was a child. Families spent time together each day at home. Everything that was of any importance centered on the home life. Meals together, activities, family gatherings, holidays and church took up enough time that no one was bored or had to seek enjoyment or activities elsewhere.

Now we live in such a fast paced world, that it often seems like our heads are always spinning. The family unit is not what it used to be. Children are absent from the evening meal because of after school activities or hanging out with friends. Parents are busy with work or socializing and often leave the kids to fend for themselves at dinner time.

Stay at home moms not only have the responsibility of taking care of the house, but the shopping, paying the bills, the laundry, after school activities and playing chauffeur to the kids give them very little time for peace and quiet.

When I was still in the workforce, I was up at 5:00, out the door by 6:30 and at work on the road by 7:00. Most days I had to stop at the store on the way home, see to dinner, laundry and on Wednesday night off to church. When I was living with my son and his family, I often had the care of the kids for a few hours a day, chauffeured my son and his wife where they had to go and still made it to church three times a week.

When I brought my step-father to live with me for awhile, I had to be on the road by 7, drop him off at the senior center, pick him back up, maybe stop at the store, make dinner and then finish up my work on the computer. Often there were times I had to take him to appointments at the VA Clinic or the VA hospital in the city.

When I became disabled things slowed down for awhile. Because of medical and physical problems I can make no long term plans. There are the doctor visits, shopping, paying bills and the occasional trip to the thrift store, but because there are often messed up days spent in the ER, we make no permanent plans. Today I am thankful that the lord has taught me to take it one day at a time.

Leave a Reply

