Leave a comment

Looking Up, Divine Intervention, and Keeping Silent

September 13, 2012 – Looking Up

cloduy skyPsalm 123:1 To You I lift up my eyes, O You who are enthroned in the heavens

The world is such a disaster, more now than ever. Satan has been sowing his wickedness around the globe for thousands of years, trying in vain, to take over the very children of god. Through all his acts of violence, degradation, immorality, sexual perversion, lies and misleading,he gathers more to his cause everyday.

The sad part about it is that many who fall into these traps that he has set, don’t even realize just how doomed they are. In turning away from their God and worshiping all the material and pleasurable ideas he has established on this earth, they are clearly taking a path to hell.

It is also a great time of evangelism. More and more, each day are coming to know Christ . More and more are changing their lives, reaching out to others and proclaiming the message of the one true God, Jesus Christ.

There is no end to the suffering in this world, world wide. Hunger, violence, disease, wars, slavery, oppression and so much more are rampant in every part of the world. Countries such as ours, who once served as a light to others, have slipped down the ladder by being complacent and at times obeisant to groups who would wipe out our history and our Christian beliefs.

Every day there are murders, robberies, rapes, assaults and drug related crimes. The numbers climb higher by the hours. But, there is also the fact that terrorists are quickly infiltrating our country and the homes and countries of others, burning churches, setting off bombs and executing Christians world wide.

In all that is going on we have but one hope, Jesus the Christ. It is now, more than ever that we should be turning eyes to him. Today I am thankful that I can continue Looking up to Christ.

Hands holding the worldSeptember 14, 2016 – Divine Intervention

1 Corinthians 2:9-10 But as it is written, Eye hath not seen, nor ear heard, neither have entered into the heart of man, the things which God hath prepared for them that love him

I can’t count the times that I have heard people say “I’m lucky, I’m unlucky or it was just dumb luck”. It’s just a toss of the coin, a flip of the cards, a spin of the wheel that changed my luck. There is no such thing as luck, only God, but there are so many that actually believe In “Luck”, even some Christians.

People, who after being saved from a horrible accident, or being healed from a severe disease, or saved from a crime want to attribute all to luck. They don’t want to give credit where credit is due. They don’t want to admit that maybe they were the recipients of Gods intervention.

I can think of so many times that I was spared from disaster and I know that it was God’s divine intervention that saved me. Too many times I have been saved, by seconds from a car accident that I know it was God. I’ve driven through hurricanes and came out unscathed. I’ve had guns pointed at my head but drove away safe, and all because God intervened in those circumstance for me. Today I am thankful for Gods Divine Intervention.

Christ of the Ozarks

Christ of the Ozarks, Eureka Springs, Arkansas

September 15, 2016 – Keeping Silent

Proverbs 17: 27-28 He that hath knowledge spareth his words and a man of understanding is of an excellent spirit Even a fool, when he holdeth his peace, is counted wise: and that shutteth his lips is esteemed a man of understanding

Do you have a relative, friend, or co-worker who likes to control the conversation. They talk so fast and so loud that you can’t get a word in edgewise and you soon find yourself following their example to just get a few words in? I do. There are two of them, who when you start talking, ramble on for a hour about their problems, their day, their family etc.

They tend to get into every minute detail of a conversation or event that you soon start thinking of ways to end the conversation. It’s gets boring and it can become aggravating. I’ve experienced this many times and actually had to be a little rude to be able to end the conversation. It was brought to my attention one time, that I was getting louder and talking faster, trying to get a word in on a conversation.

I’ve stepped back from that with these two people, trying to understand that maybe they haven’t had anyone else to talk to for awhile and could be very lonely, or they have so much going on in their lives that they are overwhelmed and need to get it off their chest.

I have quickly learned that by being silent, trying to actually listen to what they are saying, I can learn a lot about their situation, and it is starting to work. A couple times now they have slowed down, realizing I hadn’t tried to say anything, and actually asked if I was still on the line. By actually listening to them, instead of thinking what I have to say is more important, I am learning a lot about them, and a lot about their situation. Today I am thankful that God is teaching me when it is time to be silent.

Leave a Reply

