Leave a comment

Being Watchful, Fall and Depression

eyeSeptember 25, 2016 – Being Watchful

1 Peter 5:8 Be sober-minded; be watchful. Your adversary the devil prowls around like a roaring lion, seeking someone to devour.

I’ve lived a lot of places, large cities, mobile home parks, tourist areas, farms, and small rural towns. While each place has its own problems, the larger the population, the more crime there seems to be. When I lived in Cleveland, I actually got mugged at the counter in a drugstore. The man in front of me, in line, was acting odd. I was the only other one around except for the clerk, and she left and went down to the photo desk because she thought he was going to do something, and he did.

Before I had a chance to understand what was going on, he turned around and started shoving me back and pulling on my purse at the same time. I screamed, for I knew they had security in the store, and because it completely caught me of guard, but no one came until after my purse strap broke, I fell on the floor and he ran out the door with my belongings.

To say the least I was pretty upset and when I found out that they heard me in the back room and no one came out, I was very angry. It is not something you expect to happen at the counter of a drug store. It surprised me, because I am normally watchful, but this happened so quick I didn’t have time to react any other way.

Cleveland has been known for it’s crime, for it’s dangerous neighborhoods and because of that I was always watchful. When I would get out of car to go into the courthouse, I always checked around me before getting out, locked the door immediately, inserted my keys between my fingers as a weapon, and kept watching around me as I walked the block and half to the court. I pressed the lock key on the chain as soon as I opened the door so that everything was locked when I sat down to drive away.

This is a dangerous world now, even here, in one of the most free countries around. People are snatched off the street, abducted getting into their cars, taken from their homes, shot on the street and raped in alley ways, and if someone sees this, for the most part, they turn a blind eye and walk away.

I am still watching, always watching, where I go, who is around me, who is in front or behind me. I watch the skies, I watch other people, I watch the cars driving by. It isn’t out of paranoia, but out of necessity because of today’s world. I also watch for people who might need a helping hand or could be in trouble themselves.

Today I am thankful that the Lord has taught me to be watchful.,

bucket of flowersSeptember 26, 2016 – Fall

Ecclesiastes 3:1 For everything there is a season, and a time for every matter under heaven

I Love all the seasons. I like to watch Winter turn to Spring, Spring to Summer, and Summer to Fall, and then back to Winter again. Each one has it’s own smell, it’s own colors. Winter has it’s pristine snowfalls that make the world look quiet and serene, Spring has it’s different hues of greens as all the plants start to grow again.

Summer has its flowers blooming in a variety of different colors, pink and yellow, blue and purple, and sometimes a mixture of several together. You have your veggies that start growing and producing during the summer too. But Fall is so beautiful, as the leaves start to change color and fall to the ground. Browns and yellows and orange colored leaves creating a carpet across your lawn make this season different from the rest.

You harvest in the fall, all your major crops and all your garden veggies, tomatoes and cucumbers, water melons and pumpkins, squash and peppers and just so many more. The season of harvesting, just before the ground goes to sleep for the Winter is probably the one with the brightest colors. Trees start turning and just like each human, no leaf is exactly the same as the next. It is the season of preparation, preparing for the months of rest from all the sowing, planting and reaping. Today I am thankful for the seasons and especially for Fall.

older woman prayingSeptember 27, 2016 – Depression

Psalm 34:17-18 When the righteous cry for help, the Lord hears and delivers them out of all their troubles. The Lord is near to the brokenhearted and saves the crushed in spirit.

The Mayo Clinic describes depression as “ a mood disorder that causes a persistent feeling of sadness and loss of interest. “ It goes on to explain that there are different levels of depression, some are one time occurrences and others are life long chronic conditions. Some are caused by life events and some are caused by chemical imbalances in the brain.

We all get depressed. Just about every man or woman has had some kind of depression during their life, some are much worse than others. When sad or problematic events occur in our life that can’t be solved easily, it is normal for some kind of feeling of sadness and loss of interest to occur. It is not uncommon for the human mind to keep thinking about or replaying these events over and over again in the mind, causing the depression to get worse.

I’ve have been treated for depression off and on all of my adult life. It goes in hand with the PTSD that I have been diagnosed with. Changing jobs, deaths in the family, health issues, relocating to different states, leaving behind those I care about and abusive situations have often caused a level of depression.

I went from doctor to doctor, having them throw one prescription after another at me, with the only result being that I became zombified. If I didn’t care about much before taking the medicines, I cared a whole lot less while taking them. Most of them had such heavy sedation effects that I even found myself falling asleep on the bus on my way to work, missing my stop and having to walk several blocks back to get there.

Over the years, since I became a Christian, I learned how to throw the medicines away and start depending on Jesus to take care of my depression. He always find a way to show me that what I may be getting depressed about is minor compared to the blessings in my life. Sometimes there are events that cause depression that can’t be corrected by looking at my blessings, like the recent death of my son, but he showed me that my son was with him. Today I am thankful to have the best doctor in the world taking care of my depression, Jesus.

Leave a Reply

