Leave a comment

This Too Shall Pass and Undefeated

rainbowOctober 6, 2016 – This Too Shall Pass

I’ve heard this all of my life “This too shall pass” and like many others I was led to believe that it was in the bible. I looked it up today and the origin of it comes from the Persian Sufti Poets, but has been used by such famous men as Abraham Lincoln.

It is a fact of life that there is a beginning and ending for everything, good or bad. Nothing ever last forever. Illnesses come and go, diseases may last a life time but are not transferred to our next life in heaven.

I’ve run the gambit with migraine headaches, cancer, arthritis and many common illnesses like colds, flue bronchitis and such. I know when I have a migraine that eventually it will stop. I was blessed that the cancer was completely taken care, and I know that the meds prescribed for me will help the arthritis pain and it will not go with me into my new life.

Recently, in the last three months, I’ve had excruciating swelling and pain in my feet. They finally ran the right tests and diagnosed me with Rheumatoid arthritis. My niece and my older sister also suffer from this affliction and I can now totally relate to the saying “you don’t know what I am going through until you walk a mile in my shoes.”

With the modern medicines they have created, there are treatments available that will treat this condition and eventually ease the pain. Today I am thankful that “this too shall pass.”

bibleOctober 7, 2016 – Undefeated

There are so many sayings that have been passed down from generation to generation, and because some of them are based on logic, people often confuse them with verses from the bible. One that I have heard many times is “what doesn’t kill you will make you stronger”. That quote is attributed to the German philosopher, Friedrich Nietzsche. Actually, he said it much more eloquently: “That which does not kill us, makes us stronger.” It turns out that he was right. There have been studies done involving trauma victims and they have shown positive changes in their way of thinking, acting and personal growth. They now call this PTG (Post Traumatic Growth)

I am a firm believer that we are supposed to learn lessons from our life experiences and that we can choose whether to learn positive or negative lessons. I believe that God allows us to suffer for our mistakes in the hopes that we will learn the positive lessons that are there. I know I have learned a lot from the experiences in my past, and am still learning from every day events.

The stronger you become in your belief and faith in Jesus Christ, through life experiences, through prayer and meditation on Gods word, the harder it is for Satan to find a foothold in your life and you will remain undefeated. Today I am thankful that the Lord has given me the tools to remain undefeated.

Leave a Reply

