Leave a comment

Trust, Forgiveness, and Imperfections

Hands holding the worldOctober 3, 2016 – Trust

Psalm 9:10 Those who know your name trust in you, for you, LORD, have never forsaken those who seek you.

When I was a young person, I trusted everyone. I didn’t understand that in many cases trust should be earned. I trusted people to tell me the truth. I trusted people to treat me the way they wanted to be trusted. I trusted friends and relatives with my secrets, only to find as life went on, that I trusted too much.

I’ve earned the trust of many people during my life, but it was only through perseverance and hard work by being honest and loyal. Every place that I worked, the employers found me to be trust worthy, to do my the job the best I could, to value important information that passed through my work area and to keep in secret things I was told that were not for other employees to know.

As I got older, I trusted less people because I had more dishonest people in my life than honest ones. I placed trust in leaders, in churches, in people of high standing only to find that many of them wore two faces. Today there are few people I completely trust, people very close to me that mean the world to me, all others I take with a grain of salt and don’t get too involved with because they haven’t earned my trust.

When I became a Christian, I learned to trust Jesus and he has never let me down. Today I am thankful that I can always trust in the Lord.

EasterOctober 4, 2016 – Forgiveness

Matthew 26:28 This is my blood of the covenant, which is poured out for many for the forgiveness of sins.

Matthew 6: 14 For if you forgive men when they sin against you, your heavenly Father will also forgive you. But if you do not forgive men their sins, your Father will not forgive your sins.

The bible clearly states that one of the requirements for forgiveness is that we have to forgive others. We are a sinful people. More often than not our tongues can cause us to sin before the brain even has time to engage. Words can hurt and are one of the pains in life that are hard to forget and forgive.

A few months ago, when my son passed away, I got into a heated conversation with a relative. I said some mean things and they said some mean things back. Now, this person had hurt me spiritually for years, verbally abused more times than I can count when I thought when I was trying to help them and others in the family.

I never called them on the floor over their abuse of me, I never brought it up to them even though there were times I really wanted to list off to them every nasty thing they had ever said or done to me, everything that hurt me. The reason I never did is because I was trying to forgive them and by throwing it up to them, I wasn’t forgiving them.

We both apologized the next day to each other, and we had several good conversations over the following month, then they all of a sudden they quit talking to me. Every night I would send a message telling them good night, that I loved them and they were in my prayers.

Somewhere a long the line, this person became angry with me again and asked me not to contact them anymore. So I didn’t. Then there was a repeat of the previous problem. They started to talk to me again and everything seemed all right. Recently I needed some information from them about a relative and for a very long time they didn’t answer, but when they did, they were once again angry with me about the first conversation that occurred around my sons death. They even mentioned that I should watch out for Judgment Day.

Apparently they had not forgiven me. I still did not bring up the past, I still did not throw at them everything they had done to me, because in my heart, I had forgiven them. I said a special prayer last night because apparently they don’t understand the concept of forgiveness or that the Lord requires it. Today I am thankful that over the years, the Lord has been teaching me how to forgive.

blue butterlyOctober 5, 2016 – Imperfections

There is and always has been on one that is perfect, God. God, Jesus and the Holy Spirit are all in one and only there is there perfection. Strive as we might, not one of us will ever achieve perfection, not in our family, friends or neighbors eyes and certainly never in Gods eyes, for he created us imperfect, individual and unique.

We can try doing good deeds, keep believing in him, live as strictly according to his word as we can, give up material possessions and declare the word of God from one end of the world to the next, but we will never achieve perfection.

But he loves us, he always will, even when we are sinners, even before we acknowledge him as our Lord and King. He wants to bless us, to take care of us, to lead us, to show us his will. This will never change. He will never stop loving his children. Today I am thankful that he loves me even with all of my imperfections.

Leave a Reply

